Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/02. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Super 14 referees for the opening rounds announced

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :In the news, Super 14 on 21 Jan 2009 at 11:41
Tagged with : , , , , ,

SANZAR has named the match officials for the opening four rounds of the Super 14 rugby competition, which kicks off on February 13.

Rugbyweek reports that Australian Matt Goddard will take charge of the opening match between the Highlanders and ACT Brumbies in Dunedin while Bryce Lawrence of New Zealand will whistle the meeting between the Western Force and the Blues in Perth on the same evening.

Craig Joubert of South Africa is in charge of a local derby when he handles the match between the Lions and the Cheetahs in Johannesburg to complete the last of the opening day fixtures.

The appointments are the first to be made following SANZAR’s ground-breaking decision in November to establish a panel founded on merit before nationality.

Referees are no longer prevented from refereeing their countrymen in opposition to another nation. The move was made to ensure that whenever possible, the best players would be refereed by the best officials.

There are four instances in the opening round of matches where the principle of ability has over-ridden merit. “We are very excited about this new initiative,” said Andre Watson, SANZAR’s manager of referees.

“The coaches and players have asked to be refereed by the best and that is what we are giving them.”

The referees are drawn from an initial panel of nine – which will be reviewed during the season – although Test duties, injuries and other factors may see a reserve panel being drawn on.

The high demand for SANZAR referees for the Six Nations impacts on the availability of the panel with southern hemisphere officials taking charge of seven of the 15 Six Nations matches.

That opens the way in round two for referees from the shadow and reserve panels to press their case for elevation. Paul Marks and Ian Smith – both of Australia – have appointments in New Zealand in round two.

Merit Panel (alphabetical order):

Stuart Dickinson (Australia), Matt Goddard (Australia), Marius Jonker (South Africa), Craig Joubert (South Africa), Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa), Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand), Mark Lawrence (South Africa), James Leckie (Australia), Steve Walsh (New Zealand)*.

Shadow Panel (alphabetical order):

Paul Marks (Australia), Chris Pollock (New Zealand), Ian Smith (Australia).

Reserve Bench (alphabetical order):

Phillip Bosch (South Africa), Keith Brown (New Zealand), Vinny Munro (New Zealand), Nathan Pearce (Australia).

*Note: Steve Walsh was not considered for selection at this point for the first four weeks of Super 14 due to a personal employment matter.

Match appointments for Round One
Date Friday 13 Feb

Match #1 – Highlanders v Brumbies
Venue - Dunedin
Time – 19.35
Referee – M Goddard (Aus)
Assistant Referees V Munro (NZ), K Brown(NZ)
TMO – S McDermot (NZ)
Performance Reviewer – G Wahlstrom

Match #2 -Western Force v Blues
Venue -Perth
Time -19.45
Referee -B Lawrence (NZ)
Assistant Referees -N Pearce (Aus), J Pritchard (Aus)
TMO -G Ayoub (Aus)
Performance Reviewer -W Erickson

Match #3 – Lions v Cheetahs
Venue – Johannesburg
Time – 19.10
Referee – C Joubert (SA)
Assistant Referees -P Bosch (SA), J Salmans (SA)
TMO -J Meuwesen (SA)
Performance Reviewer -A Schoonwinkel

Saturday 14 Feb

Match #4 – Crusaders v Chiefs
Venue – Christchurch
Time -17.30
Referee -C Pollock (NZ)
Assistant Referees -V Munro (NZ), K McBride(NZ)
TMO – S McDermot (NZ)
Performance Reviewer -G Wahlstrom

Match #5 -Hurricanes v Waratahs
Venue -Wellington
Time -19.35
Referee -S Dickinson (Aus)
Assistant Referees – K Brown (NZ), G Newman (Aus)
TMO – B Skeen (NZ)
Performance Reviewer – G Cooper

Match #6 – Stormers v Sharks
Venue – Cape Town
Time -17.00
Referee – M Lawrence (SA)
Ass Ref. 1 – P Legoete (SA), C Wessels (SA)
TMO – S Veldsman/ JC Fortuin (Tr.) (SA)
Performance Reviewer – W Erickson

Match #7 – Bulls v Reds
Venue – Pretoria
Time – 19.10
Referee – M Jonker (SA)
Assistant Referees – W Roos (SA), J Peyper (SA)
TMO – M Cupido(SA)
Performance Reviewer – A Schoonwinkel

Round Two

Friday 20 Feb

Match # 8 – Hurricanes v Highlanders
Venue – Wellington
Time – 19.35
Referee – K Brown (NZ)
Assistant Referees – V Munro (NZ), G Williamson (NZ)
TMO – B Skeen (NZ)
Performance Reviewer - G Wahlstrom

Match # 9 – Waratahs v Chiefs
Venue - Sydney
Time – 19.40
Referee – S Dickinson (Aus)
Assistant Referees – I Smith (Aus), D Mitchelmore (Aus)
TMO – G Ayoub (Aus)
Performance Reviewer – W Erickson

Match # 10 – Western Force v Cheetahs
Venue – Perth
Time – 19.45
Referee – J Leckie (AUS)
Assistant Referees – P Marks (Aus), J Pritchard (Aus)
TMO – G Acton (Aus)
Performance Reviewer – A Schoonwinkel

Match # 11 -Stormers v Reds
Venue - Cape Town
Time – 19.10
Referee – C Pollock (NZ)
Assistant Referees – C Joubert (SA), J Noonan (NZ)
TMO – M Cupido (SA)
Performance Reviewer – G Cooper

Saturday 21 Feb

Match # 12 -Brumbies v Crusaders
Venue – Canberra
Time -19.40
Referee – B Lawrence (NZ)
Assistant Referees – I Smith (Aus), B Bowden (Aus)
TMO – S Leszcynski (Aus)
Performance Reviewer – W Erickson

Match # 13 -Bulls v Blues
Venue – Pretoria
Time -17.00
Referee – M Lawrence (SA)
Assistant Referees – M Jonker (SA), S Berry (SA)
TMO – S Veldsman (SA)
Performance Reviewer - G Cooper

Match # 14 -Sharks v Lions
Venue – Durban
Time – 19.10
Referee – J Kaplan (SA)
Assistant Referees – P Bosch (SA), C Du Preez (SA)
TMO – J Meuwesen (SA)
Performance Reviewer – A Schoonwinkel

Round 3 and 4 appointments to follow as soon as they are available.


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.