Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/02. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Genia straight in Starting XV to face Lions

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :In the news, Super 14 on 15 Apr 2009 at 06:47
Tagged with : , , , , , , ,

Halfback Will Genia has been rushed back into the Queensland starting side for Saturday’s Super 14 clash against the Lions at Suncorp Stadium.

The AAP reports that Genia has been slotted straight back into the side after serving a three-match ban for a dangerous tackle against the Sharks on March 14.

Reds coach Phil Mooney has also reshuffled his forward pack, promoting reserve lock Adam Byrnes to the starting side while Wallaby Hugh McMeniman will revert to blindside flanker, forcing Scott Higginbotham back to the bench.

Genia’s return provides some relief for Mooney.

The Queensland mentor was forced to throw Reds Academy halfback Brendan McKibbin into the deep end against the Highlanders last round after Lucas withdrew with a nagging rib cartilage injury.

McKibbin was solid in the Reds’ gut-wrenching 24-19 loss to the New Zealand outfit.

Lucas has been named on the bench for the Lions clash.

Reds: Mark McLinden, Peter Hynes, Digby Ioane, Berrick Barnes, Brando Va’aulu, Quade Cooper, Will Genia, Ezra Taylor, Daniel Braid, Hugh McMeniman, James Horwill (capt), Adam Byrnes, Laurie Weeks, Sean Hardman, Greg Holmes.
Reserves: Saia Faingaa, Jack Kennedy, Leroy Houston, Scott Higginbotham, Ben Lucas, Charlie Fetoai, Luke Morahan.

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.