Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/09. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

New-look ‘Tahs to face Cheetahs

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :In the news, Super 14 on 28 Apr 2009 at 06:25
Tagged with : , , , , , ,

The Waratahs team to tackle the Cheetahs in a Super 14 Round 12 encounter in Bloemfontein on Friday shows a number of changes.

After missing four matches with a calf injury, prop Al Baxter returns to the starting XV in the only adjustment to the forward pack.

However, it is the backline which takes on a new look this week.

Rugby 365 reports that Kurtley Beale returns to the starting side at No.12, where he will form a new centre combination with Timana Tahu.

Lachie Turner shifts to fullback, with Peter Playford earning his first starting cap for 2009 on the wing.

Tom Carter and Sam Norton-Knight have both been ruled fit to play and will start from the bench.

Centre Rob Horne is still recovering from a hamstring injury suffered against the Bulls and was the only member of the touring party not available for selection.

Captain Phil Waugh will play his 108th Super Rugby match, taking him past Chris Whitaker as New South Wales’ most-capped player at this level.

Lock Dean Mumm will play his 50th match for NSW against the Cheetahs, while Benn Robinson, Will Caldwell and Luke Doherty are all poised to make their 50th Super Rugby appearances.

“The backline certainly has a new look to it and hopefully that will bring results on Friday,” said head coach Chris Hickey.

“We used the bye week to reassess and look at our options for this trip.

“What we’ve come up with for this first match of the tour is something a little bit different, but the players we’ve selected have all trained in those positions and many have played there in games as well, so we’re confident everyone can perform the roles we’ve asked them to.”

Waratahs: 15 Lachie Turner, 14 Peter Playford, 13 Timana Tahu, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Lote Tuqiri, 10 Daniel Halangahu, 9 Brett Sheehan, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Phil Waugh (captain), 6 Ben Mowen, 5 Will Caldwell, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Al Baxter, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.

Replacements: 16 Damien Fitzpatrick, 17 Sekope Kepu, 18 Chris Thomson, 19 Luke Doherty, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Sam Norton-Knight, 22 Tom Carter.


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.