Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/09. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Lions team announced

Written by Wesley Weber (wpw)

Posted in :2009 Lions Tour, In the news, Springboks on 18 Jun 2009 at 14:00
Tagged with : , , ,

Ireland’s David Wallace edged out Martyn Williams for the key position of openside flanker when British and Irish Lions coach Ian McGeechan on Thursday named his team for the first Test against South Africa.

There were no real surprises and few even contentious selections in the team for Saturday’s clash in Durban, with Williams named among the replacements after a shoulder injury limited his involvement in the provincial games.

Welshman Alun Wyn Jones got the nod as the second lock, as his athleticism complements the more solid qualities of captain Paul O’Connell, while Gethin Jenkins and Phil Vickery are the props sandwiching Lee Mears.

The starting Test team have not played together in any of the six tour games to date but McGeechan said he was prepared to accept that for the payoff of giving everyone in the squad enough of a chance to show what they could do.


Lee Byrne (WAL), Tommy Bowe (IRL), Brian O’Driscoll (IRL), Jamie Roberts (WAL), Ugo Moyne (ENG), Stephen Jones (WAL), Mike Phillips (WAL), Jamie Heaslip (IRL), David Wallace (IRL), Tom Croft (ENG), Paul O’Connell (IRL, captain), Alun-Wyn Jones (WAL), Phil Vickery (ENG), Lee Mears (ENG), Gethin Jenkins (WAL)

Replacements: Matthew Rees (WAL), Adam Jones (WAL), Donncha O’Callaghan (IRL), Martyn Williams (WAL), Harry Ellis (ENG), Ronan O’Gara (IRL), Rob Kearney (IRL)


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.