Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/01. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Waratahs include Emerging bok in tour squad

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :In the news, Super 14 on 14 Feb 2010 at 17:48
Tagged with : , ,

Having been forced to make two changes to their squad, through injury and suspension, the Waratahs have named Emerging Hendrik Roodt in their 26-man squad for their two-match tour to South Africa.

The selectors were forced to leave out two players from the side which defeated the Reds 30-28 in the season opener at the weekend.

Deep bone bruising sustained during his debut match will see lock Cam Jowitt miss the tour through injury. However, he is expected to be fit to return when the squad completes its tour.

Flank Dean Mumm was also forced out of the squad after being suspended for two matches at a SANZAR Judicial hearing on Sunday after being found guilty of foul play.

Mumm faced judicial officer Paul Tully to answer a charge of barging into a ruck and maul under Law 10.4 (h).

The hearing followed an incident in the 35th minute of the second half, where Mumm made contact with the back of Reds replacement hooker Saia Faingaa.

As a result Wallaby tourists Dave Dennis and Rob Horne have been selected along with young prop Dan Palmer.

Roodt, returns to his homeland with hopes of making his Super 14 debut, after having joined the ‘Tahs in the off season – having effectively retired from the game after helping the Emerging Boks win the IRB Nations Cup tournament in 2008.

Two other rookies have bolted into the squad.

Shute Shield Rookie of the Year Locky McCaffrey has been named as cover in the back row, following Mumm’s suspension, while speedster Peter Betham earns his spot after impressing in the trials.

The ‘Tahs have fond memories of the Republic having finished 2009 by becoming the first Australian or New Zealand team to win three matches back-to-back in South Africa, and they enter the tour having won their last five matches away from home.

The squad flies to Johannesburg on Monday, before transferring to Cape Town.

Waratahs squad:

Backs: Sosene Anesi, Berrick Barnes, Kurtley Beale, Peter Betham, Luke Burgess, Tom Carter, Daniel Halangahu, Josh Holmes, Rob Horne, Drew Mitchell, Rory Sidey, Lachie Turner.

Forwards: Al Baxter, Will Caldwell, David Dennis, Kane Douglas, Damien Fitzpatrick, Sekope Kepu, Locky McCaffrey, Ben Mowen, Dan Palmer, Wycliff Palu, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Benn Robinson, Hendrik Roodt, Phil Waugh (captain).

Article Courtesy of Rugby 365

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.