Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/02. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Muir makes one change.

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :In the news, Lions, Super 14 on 25 Feb 2010 at 08:08
Tagged with : , ,

Auto and General Lions director of coaching Dick Muir has made only one enforced change from the side beaten 72-65 by the Chiefs last weekend to his starting line-up for Saturday’s Super 14 match against the Hurricanes in Wellington.

Experienced lock Willem Stoltz, who is suspended for this match, is replaced by new cap George Earl. It will be the acquisition from Boland’s first cap for the Lions and also his Super 14 debut. He leapfrogs Jacques Lombaard, who remains on the bench, into the starting team

On the bench Muir has opted for centre Walter Venter as replacement in stead of flyhalf Burton Francis. His reasoning is that the Lions centres have had two tough matches against big opponents and that a rest for one of them would be a good thing at this stage. Earl Rose will cover for Carlos Spencer at flyhalf.

The withdrawal of No 8 Jonathan Mokuena before the tour leaves a loose forward vacancy on the bench and Mokuena’s replacement in the tour squad, Robert Kruger, will be on the bench for the match.
Lions – Earl Rose; Tonderai Chavhanga, Deon Van Rensburg, Doppies La Grange, Wandile Mjekevu; Carlos Spencer, JP Joubert; Todd Clever, Derick Minnie, Cobus Grobbelaar (capt), George Earl, Franco Van der Merwe, Ross Geldenhuys, Hannes Franklin, Heinke Van der Merwe.
Substitues – Charles Emslie, Kevin Buys, Jacques Lombaard, Robert Kruger, Jacques Coetzee, Walter Venter, Michael Killian.

From Sport 24.


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.