Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/08. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Force team named

Written by Warren Smith (war1)

Posted in :Original Content, Super Rugby on 3 Mar 2011 at 10:28
Tagged with : , , , ,

The Western Force team to play the Sharks on Saturday has been named.Coach Richard Graham has made just one change to the match 22 with Wallaby prop Matt Dunning coming on to the bench in place of Kieran Longbottom.

Willie Ripia is still suffering from a foot injury, so James O’Connor continues in the flyhalf role which sets up a likely mouthwatering duel with fellow 20 year old, Pat Lambie. A stand out in the Force team is the all-Wallaby back row which is headlined by Aussie player of the year, David Pocock. Locks Nathan Sharpe and Ben McCalman both played for the Wallabies last year although the latter is more recognised as a looseforward.

The backline looks a bit lighter than recent years with players like Matt Giteau, Scott Staniforth, Drew Mitchell and Ryan Cross all having moved on from the Perth franchise in recent years.

Another interesting thing from this match is that Glen Jackson, the former Chiefs and Saracens flyhalf has been named as a touch judge. While this is not his first super rugby touch duty, it is nevertheless interesting to see a former player taking up the whistle or rather in this case the flag.

Western Force:

15. Cameron Shepherd
14. Nick Cummins
13. Mitch Inman
12. Gene Fairbanks
11. David Smith
10. James O’Connor
9. Brett Sheehan
8. Richard Brown
7. David Pocock
6. Matt Hodgson
5. Nathan Sharpe
4. Ben McCalman
3. Tim Fairbrother
2. Ben Whittaker
1. Pek Cowan


16. Nathan Charles
17. Matt Dunning
18. Sam Wykes
19. Tevita Metuisela
20. James Stannard
21. Alfie Mafi
22. Rory Sidey

Date: Saturday, March 5
Venue: nib Stadium, Perth
Kick-off: 19.05 (11.05 GMT)
Referee: Keith Brown (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Glen Jackson (New Zealand), Andrew Lees (Australia)
TMO: Julian Pritchard (Australia)


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.