Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/07. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Port Elizabeth gets the Sevens

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :Original Content, Sevens on 13 Apr 2011 at 13:25
Tagged with : , , , ,

The HSBC Sevens World Series will be going to Port Elizabeth from later this year after the SARU Executive Council accepted the tender made by the South African Rugby Union. The first event will be held at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium.

The other bidding unions were the Leopards, Pumas, South Western Districts and Western Province.

SARU thanked the South Western Districts Rugby Union and the City of George for their work and success in hosting the tournament for the past nine seasons. He said that was reflected in the interest that had been generated among unions by the invitation to tender.

The IRB will confirm the dates of the Port Elizabeth event as well as of the rest of the HSBC Sevens World Series for 2011/12 in due course.

Fact File: SA Sevens tournament:

South Africa hosted the first tournament of the inaugural Sevens World Series in 1999 at the Danie Craven Stadium in Stellenbosch
Durban was the venue for the following two SA Sevens events in 2000 & 2001
Outeniqua Park in George played host to the popular event for the first time in 2002 and went on to stage the tournament for nine consecutive years
Port Elizabeth will be the fourth SA venue to host the international tournament
New Zealand has won the SA Sevens tournament seven times
The Kiwi’s won both Durban-based tournaments in 2001 & 2002 and achieved their first of five George victories in 2004
South Africa’s only home success came in 2008, the season they won their first Sevens World Series titles


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.