Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/08. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

CC Game 20 – Lions (17) vs (10) Cheetahs F/T

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :Cheetahs, Currie Cup, In the news, Lions on 13 Aug 2011 at 15:00
Tagged with : , , , , ,

The one and only Saturday game is the big battle of the felines as the Lions host the Cheetahs at the Coke Tin, attempting to go a fifth week without a loss. Both teams come off wins the week before and the confidence will be quite high in both camps.

The Lions have had an easy start to the season with games against the three ‘smaller’ unions in the first three weeks, with the bigger matches coming through thick and fast now. They have showed that they are no flash-in-the-pans by beating the Bulls at Loftus last weekend, something the Lions so not do too often.

The Cheetahs overcame a good Western Province outfit in Bloemfontein last weekend, getting their campaign back on track after early season losses to the Sharks and the Bulls. This is their last big match before they head into facing the three ‘smaller’ unions over the next three weeks, and will be aiming for at least 12 points from those games.

Lions: Jaco Taute, Deon van Rensburg, Lionel Mapoe, Alwyn Hollenbach, Michael Killian, Elton Jantjies, Michael Bondesio, Josh Strauss (Capt), Derick Minnie, Baywatch Grobbelaar, Franco van der Merwe, Wikus van Heerden, Jacobie Adriaanse, Bandise Maku, JC van Rensburg.

Reserves: Martin Bezuidenhout, Patric Cilliers, Joe Snyman, Warren Whiteley, Rudy Paige, Burton Francis, Jannie Boshoff.

Free State Cheetahs: 15 Riaan Smit, 14 Phillip Snyman, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Corné Uys, 11 Rayno Benjamin, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Pieter Labuschagne, 6 Johan Wessels, 5 Waltie Vermeulen, 4 Francois Uys, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.

Replacements: 16 Herkie Liebenberg, 17 Marcel van der Merwe, 18 Izak van der Westhuizen, 19 Pieter Myburgh, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Nico Scheepers, 22 Philip Burger.

Referee: Jason Jaftha


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.