Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/08. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

CC Game 24 – Cheetahs vs Pumas

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :Cheetahs, Currie Cup, In the news, Other SA Teams on 20 Aug 2011 at 12:52
Tagged with : , , , ,

The Free State Cheetahs and the Pumas finish of the Currie Cup action this afternoon as a curtain raiser for the Tri Nations clash in Port Elizabeth. It won’t be as much a spectacle as the Province vs Lions game last night, but we should, if everything goes according to plan, see a few tries being scored.

The Cheetahs need a win today to make sure they stay in touch with the front runners in the Currie Cup so far, as a few dropped points in these minnow games could easily cost you a semi-final spot, especially with Griquas playing well and picking up good points.

The Pumas are the only team that are yet to win a match this season so far, and will be aiming every weekend to break that duck. Bloemfontein might be a step too far, but one never knows in this competition, and it will be sad to see the Pumas leave the Currie Cup Premier Division later this year.

This game kicks off at 15h00 and should be an entertaining affair to make that wait for the Springbok game a little less nerve wracking.

Free State Cheetahs: 15 Riaan Smit, 14 Philip Snyman, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Corné Uys, 11 Ryno Benjamin, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Tewis de Bruyn, 8 Boom Prinsloo, 7 Pieter Labuschagne, 6 Johan Wessels, 5 Izak van der Westhuizen, 4 Francois Uys, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.

Replacements: 16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 Marcel van der Merwe, 18 Ockert van Zyl, 19 Pieter Myburgh, 20 Enrico Acker, 21 Johan Goosen, 22 Philip Burger.

Pumas: 15. Carl Bezuidenhout, 14. Johan Jackson, 13. JW Jonker (Captain), 12. Tiaan Marx, 11. MJ Mentz, 10. Ricardo Croy, 9. Tian Carel Meyer, 8. Christo le Roux, 7. RW Kember, 6. Jaco Bouwer, 5. Eduan Van Der Walt, 4. Rudi Mathee, 3. Ashley Buys, 2. Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1. De-Jay Terblanche

Replacements: 16. Pellow van der Westhuizen, 17. Dawie Steyn, 18. Willem Serfontein, 19. JP Mostert, 20. Hendrik van der Nest, 21. Siviwe Magaba, 22. Deon Scholtz


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.