Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/10. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

A sad farewell

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :All Blacks, Original Content, Springboks, Tri Nations, Wallabies on 30 Aug 2011 at 14:51
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Tri Nations has come to an end for the 2011 year, and it is with a sad feeling that we say good bye to the premier tournament in the Southern Hemisphere as it will be extended to a four team competition next year to include Argentina.

Since its first game back in 1996, we have witnessed 108 amazing matches in 16 tournaments, with more than 4800 points scored. New Zealand comes out clear overall winners with 10 championship wins and 232 log points. In the scramble for second, Australia and South Africa have now each won 3 titles, but Australia pip the Boks by 2 log points, finishing a close second on 140 points compared to the 138 of the Boks.

Christian Cullen finished top try scorer on 16 tries, closely followed by Joe Rokocoko on 15, Doug Howlett on 13 and the top four rounded off by yet another New Zealander, Richie McCaw on 11. The South African only feature with 7 tries, with Jaque Fourie, Bryan Habana and Breyton Paulse each crossing the line seven times.

I sat myself down and tried putting a team together, but it was really difficult as I had to leave out so many legends. So I decided to do two teams, a pre-2000 team and post-2000 team:

1.Os du Randt
2.Sean Fitzpatrick
3.Adrian Garvey
4.John Eales
5.Mark Andrews
6.Ruben Kruger
7.Taine Randell
8.Zinzan Brooke
9.George Gregan
10.Andrew Mehrtens
11.Jonah Lomu
12.Tim Horan
13.Tana Umaga
14.Joe Roff
15.Matt Burke

1.Kees Meeuws
2.John Smit
3.Tony Woodcock
4.Brad Thorne
5.Victor Matfield
6.Schalk Burger
7.Richie McCaw
8.Rodney So’oialo
9.Fourie du Preez
10.Dan Carter
11.Doug Howlett
12.Stirling Mortlock
13.Marius Joubert
14.Joe Rokocoko
15.Percy Montgomery

Farewell Tri Nations, it was good knowing you and you will be missed!


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.