Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/10. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

SANZAR announce Rugby Championship fixtures

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :All Blacks, Original Content, Springboks, The Rugby Championship, Tri Nations, Wallabies on 9 Nov 2011 at 07:14
Tagged with : , ,

The replacement for the Tri-Nations is here: it’s called “The Rugby Championship” and will see South Africa, Australia, New Zealand and new boys Argentina compete for an all-new trophy – and the title of Southern Hemisphere champions – between August and October next year.

With a fourth side added to the bill, there was no way that the Tri-Nations name could be retained and with the organisers not wanting to limit their options by adding the number of participants to the name again, the “Four Nations” option was seemingly a non-starter. While the chosen competition title has been criticised in some circles for being a tad bland, it is hardly misleading, in that the fours participants are regularly rated amongst the top 5 or 6 teams in the world and between them have won all bar one of the Rugby World Cup tournaments played to date.

The new competition will see each side play every other on a home-and-away basis, with two matches taking place each weekend. The added logistical complexity caused by Argentina’s inclusion has mandated the addition of two “travel bye” weekends and while this will add to the workload of the players, it is reassuring to see that matches will indeed be played in Argentia, rather than forcing the new boys to artificially relocate to one of the other teams’ bases for the duration of the competition.

The competition will be sponsored by Castle and known as “The Castle Rugby Championship” within South Africa. Next year’s fixtures are as follows:

The Rugby Championship fixtures:

18 August 2012: Australia vs New Zealand

South Africa vs Argentina

25 August 2012: New Zealand vs Australia

Argentina vs South Africa

1 September 2012: Travel Bye

8 September 2012: Australia vs South Africa

New Zealand vs Argentina

15 September 2012: Australia vs Argentina

New Zealand vs South Africa

22 September 2012: Travel Bye

29 September 2012: South Africa vs Australia

Argentina vs New Zealand

6 October 2012: South Africa vs New Zealand

Argentina vs Australia


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.