Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/10. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Sarel to make Waratahs debut

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :Original Content, Super Rugby on 8 Feb 2012 at 11:46
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , ,

Sarel Pretorius will make his Waratahs debut against Samoa this Friday after he was selected to play in the first run on team, which will play the first half of the game. He will partner Captain Berrick Barnes in the halfbacks, as the most likely first choice halfback pairing plays together for the first time.

The game has been set up in four quareters of 30 minutes each, with each player then getting a guaranteed 60 minutes. The Waratahs have opted to give their entire squad a run in this match, as they prepare to tackle the Reds in their season opener in three weeks time.

Another flyhalf, Daniel Halangahu, will captain the side for the second half of the match, leading a team filled with mostly fringe players as well as a few players that have been invited to impress the coaches.

A few players not in the mix due to injury, but who are likely to be fit for the opening fixture are Drew Mitchell, Wycliff Palu and Benn Robinson. Other regulars missing are Rocky Elsom, who is the appointed captain for the season, but will only be back from injury after the first month of fixtures, Dan Vickerman, who is out injured until April and Adam Ashley-Cooper, who is being rested for this match.

Waratahs XV to contest first two quarters

1. Sekope Kepu
2. Tatafu Polota-Nau
3. Paddy Ryan
4. Dean Mumm
5. Kane Douglas
6. Dave Dennis
7. Chris Alcock
8. Pat McCutcheon
9. Sarel Pretorius
10. Berrick Barnes (captain)
11. Tom Kingston
12. Tom Carter
13. Rob Horne
14. Lachie Turner
15. Brackin Karauria-Henry

Waratahs XV to contest last two quarters

1. Jeremy Tilse
2. Damien Fitzpatrick
3. John Ulugia
4. Richard Stanford *
5. Greg Peterson
6. Tevita Metuisela
7. Seilala Lam*
8. Lopeti Timani
9. Brendan McKibbin
10. Daniel Halangahu (captain)
11. Peter Betham*
12. Bernard Foley
13. Michael Hodge*
14. Nathan Trist
15. Toby Browne*

16. Lotu Taukeiaho
17. Liam Winton*
18. Jono Jenkins*
19. Grayson Hart
20. Jesse Leota*
21. Tom Hill*

* Invited player


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.