Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/08. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Sharks XV named for Boland

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks, Vodacom Cup on 11 Apr 2012 at 14:29
Tagged with : , , , , ,

Sharks XV coach Sean Everitt has, as predicted, named a weakened side to face Boland on Saturday, after a huge number of young stars have been withdrawn due to Baby Bok commitments.

With up to 10 players missing, the pack has a seriously re-jigged look, with a number of club players asked to take the step up. Tighthead prop Frans Hanekom is no stranger to this level of rugby, though, having represented the XV on a few occasions last year. His back up is prop Kurt Schonert, the older brother of Nick, who is on tour with the Sharks Super Rugby squad. Kurt also played a game or two for the Sharks at age-group level. Monde Hadebe starts at hooker with Dean Muir coming in as understudy.

Amongst the locks, former Glenwood lad Brendon Groenewald has been pressed into service as a makeshift number 4, with Stephan Lewies coming onto the bench. Franna Kleinhans is back at open side flank after serving out his suspension, meaning a demotion to the bench for Chris Cloete. Tera Mtembu will captain the side again.

Amongst the backs, the only change to the run-on side sees Gavin Hauptfleisch start at flyhalf in place of Fred Zeilinga. It will be Hauptfleisch’s first start for the Sharks in any competition, after injury sidelined him for all of last year’s under 19 campaign.

15. Gouws Prinsloo
14. S’bura Sithole
13. Wandile Mjekevu
12. Heimar Williams
11. Rosco Speckman
10. Gavin Hauptfliesch
9. Cobus Reinach
8. Lubabalo Mtembu (Captain)
7. Brynard Stander
6. Francois Kleinhans
5. Peet Marais
4. Brendon Groenewald
3. Francois Hanekom
2. Monde Hadebe
1. Danie Mienie

16. Dean Muir
17. Kurt Schonert
18. Stephan Lewies
19. Chris Cloete
20. Shannon Rick
21. Piet Lindeque
22. Jaco van Tonder


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.