Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/12. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

English name side for second Barbarians clash

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content on 19 Jun 2012 at 09:06
Tagged with : , , , ,

England have named their side for Tuesday’s second “dirt tracker” outing, against the SA Barbarians North, in Potchefstroom.

Aside from a few injury-enforced changes, we also see the somewhat surprising selection of test number 8 Ben Morgan amongst the loose forwards. That’s a pretty clear indication that Thomas Waldrom (who’s been left out here) is in line for a start in the third Test. Also missing from this line-up is scrumhalf Danny Care, who will most likely replace the injured Ben Youngs in the test side.

Youngs’ even younger (or is that “youngser”?) brother Tom will play at hooker, with Ugo Monye (wing) and Jonny May (replacement centre and future of English rugby) set to enjoy their first action on tour so far.

15 Nick Abendanon (Bath Rugby); 14 Christian Wade (London Wasps), 13 Anthony Allen (Leicester Tigers), 12 Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins), 11 Ugo Monye (Harlequins); 10 Charlie Hodgson (Saracens), 9 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints); 1 Matt Mullan (Worcester Warriors), 2 Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers), 3 Paul Doran Jones (Northampton Saints), 4 Graham Kitchener (Leicester Tigers), 5 George Robson (capt, Harlequins), 6 Jamie Gibson (London Irish), 7 Carl Fearns (Bath Rugby), 8 Ben Morgan (Scarlets).
Replacements: 16 Joe Gray (Harlequins), 17 Rupert Harden (Gloucester Rugby), 18 Mouritz Botha, (Saracens), 19 James Haskell (Otago Highlanders), 20 Karl Dickson (Harlequins), 21 David Strettle (Saracens), 22 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby).

Meanwhile, Jimmy Stonehouse has been forced to make a single change to his Barbarians team after reserve scrumhalf Johan Laker had to cry off injured. Griffons number nine Andries Mahoney comes into the squad in the number 20 jersey. As Pumas coach in the Currie Cup, Stonehouse has certainly backed the players he knows for this fixture, with no fewer than 13 of the match 22 hailing from that side.

SA Barbarians (North):
15-JC Roos (Pumas); 14-Danwel Demas (Pumas), 13-JW Jonker (Pumas, captain), 12-Joubert Engelbrecht (Leopards), 11-Deon Scholtz (Pumas); 10-Coenie van Wyk (Pumas), 9-Shaun Venter (Pumas); 8-Nicky Steyn (Griffons), 7-MB Lusaseni (Leopards), 6-Jaco Bouwer (Pumas), 5-Rudi Mathee (Pumas), 4-Eduan van der Walt (Pumas), 3-Ashley Buys (Pumas), 2-Torsten van Jaarsveld (Pumas), 1-BG Uys (Leopards).

Substitutes: 16-Pellow van der Westhuizen (Pumas), 17-Zane Kilian (Valke), 18-Boela Serfontein (Pumas), 19-Martin Sithole (Griffons), 20-Andries Mahoney, (Griffons), 21-Hoffman Maritz (Leopards), 22-Tertius Maarman (Griffons).


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.