Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/08. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Sharks under 19s named

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks on 26 Jun 2012 at 09:50
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , ,

Sharks under 19 coach Etienne Fynn has named a 25-man squad ahead of this year’s ABSA Under 19 competition.

While a little short on Craven Week and SA Schools representatives (those boys have, as usual, signed for the Bulls and Western Province in their droves), Fynn’s side does contain a few pretty big names and has been put together from the cream of school leavers currently plying their trade on the local club scene. With a fair bit of international flavour thrown in, it’s an interesting side and the challenge for the Sharks under 19s this year will be to see whether hard work and team unity can upset the superstar-laden “Real Madrid”-style outfits that several other unions will field in the competition.

Fynn has managed to find three SA Schools players and another who represented the SA Academy side in 2011. Waterkloof hooker Morne du Plessis and school mate Sean Robinson (fullback) were judged the best in their respective positions last year, as was centre-cum-wing Tyler Fisher, who was capped by the Sharks under 19s whilst still at school. Prop Matthew Jones, from Kearsney, played for the SA Academy team at tight head, while flyhalf Rob du Preez (Kearsney) and scrumhalf Stefan Ungerer (PMB College) also both played for the Sharks Under 19 side in 2011 whilst in matric.

A number of other players have come in based on Craven Week credentials, mostly for smaller unions. These are loose forwards Petrus Uys (Boland), Andrew van Tonder (Valke) and Johan Meyer (Border) , flyhalf Brendon Cope (KZN) and centres Mike Bernhard (SWD), Sphu Msutswana (Border) and Gareth Meikle (Zimbabwe).

Meikle is not the only foreign player in the squad, with Alcino Izaaks hailing from Swakopmund in Namibia, and Kotara Matsushima a product of that famed rugby academy, Toin Gakven High School in Tokyo!

Rondebosch has done well in providing three players to the squad, including tall lock forward Myles Tucker, whose father Andrew played for Natal in the 1980s. Their captain, Nic Roebeck, is a mobile prop who may be in with a shot of captaining the Sharks this season, as will loose forward Louis Hazelhurst, who captained George Campbell’s first team last year while juggling his part-time modelling career! Finally, I’m pleased to report that my own alma mater, Pretoria Boys High, does indeed have a representative this year, in lock forward David Fisher.

Sharks Under 19 squad:
Nic Roebeck (Rondebosch)
Richard Palframan (Rondebosch)
Matt Jones (Kearsney)
John-Hubert Meyer (Paul Roos)
Morne du Plessis (Waterkloof)
Warrick Venter (Selborne)
David Fisher (Pretoria Boys)
Myles Tucker (Rondebosch)
Louis Hazelhurst (George Campbell)
Petrus Uys (Swellendam)
Schalk vd Merwe (Paarl Gim)
Theo Kruger (THS Sasolburg)
Andrew van Tonder (EG Jansen)
Jean Pretorius (Sentraal)
Johan Meyer (Queens)

Bokkie Carstens (Paul Roos)
Stefan Ungerer (PMB)
Hubert de Haas (Klerksdorp)
Robert du Preez (Kearsney)
Brendon Cope (DHS)
Alcino Izaacs (Namib High School)
Leandre Ebersohn (Daniel Pienaar)
Kotara Matsushima (Toin Gakven High School Tokyo)
Matt Phillps (PMB)
Gareth Meikle (Lomagundi)
Coenrad du Toit (Paarl Gim)
Michael Bernardt (Oakdale)
Tyler Fisher (Westville)
Sean Robinson (Waterkloof)
Sphu Msutwana (Dale College)


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.