Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/09. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Chiefs shuffle ahead of semi clash

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :All Blacks, Original Content, Super Rugby on 25 Jul 2012 at 08:36
Tagged with : , , , , , , , ,

The Chiefs have announced their team to face the Crusaders in the Super Rugby semi-final this weekend, making four changes to the team that lost to the Hurricanes two weeks ago, a loss which cost them the top of the log spot.

Amongst the forwards, Sona Taumalolo and Hahonri Schwalger bolster the front row, meaning a place on the bench for the ever impressive Hika Elliot. Ben Afeaki returns from injury to add depth to the bench in terms of front row cover.

The backline sees a bit of a shuffle, with Andrew Horrell moving from fullback to centre, where he will partner Sonny Bill Williams in the midfield, Robbie Robinson moves from wing to fullback, a position he has showed superb form in, and Asaeli Tikoirotuma comes in on the wing. All the shuffling results in a bench spot for Jackson Willison.

Should the Chiefs lose to the Crusaders in Hamilton on Friday, it will be Sonny Bill Williams’ last outing for the franchise, having moved from the Crusaders last year, and moving on to play in Japan later in the year, before a return to League rugby is on the cards. Should they win though, Williams can add a Super Rugby winners medal to his World Cup medal, a nice return for only two years in New Zealand rugby.

Chiefs: 1. Sona Taumalolo , 2. Mahonri Schwalger , 3. Ben Tameifuna , 4. Craig Clarke (c) , 5. Brodie Retallick , 6. Liam Messam , 7. Tanerau Latimer , 8. Kane Thompson , 9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow , 10. Aaron Cruden , 11. Asaeli Tikoirotuma , 12. Sonny Bill Williams , 13. Andrew Horrell , 14. Tim Nanai-Williams , 15. Robbie Robinson.

Replacelements : 16. Hika Elliot , 17. Ben Afeaki , 18. Michael Fitzgerald , 19. Sam Cane , 20. Brendon Leonard , 21. Jackson Willison , 22. Lelia Masaga


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.