Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/02. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Boks named for Castle Rugby Championship

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Springboks on 4 Aug 2012 at 18:19
Tagged with : ,

Heyneke Meyer has added 3 new faces to his squad ahead of the Boks Rugby Championship campaign, although one, Andries Bekker, is hardly a newcomer to the Test scene.

The two newcomers are Lions prop Pat Ciliers, rewarded for great form at tight head during this year’s Super Rugby campaign and Stormers flank Siya Kolisi, whose omission for the mid-year tests against England caused quite a stir in some parts.

The Sharks have 10 players in the squad and incredibly, the Bulls have 11! The likes of JJ Engelbrecht, Jacques Potgieter, Jano Vermaak and Zane Kirchner are somewhat fortunate to still be in the picture. Ryan Kankowski and Wynand Olivier are both missing, having opted to continue their careers in Japan for the time being. Western Province again are under-represented, with only four in the squad (one of them a back!). Both Gio Aplon and Juan de Jongh have been left out again.

The Springbok squad is:

Pat Cilliers, MTN Golden Lions, uncapped
Jannie du Plessis, The Sharks, 33 caps
Dean Greyling, Vodacom Blue Bulls, 2 caps
Tendai Mtawarira, The Sharks, 35 caps

Bismarck du Plessis, The Sharks, 45 caps
Chiliboy Ralepelle, Vodacom Blue Bulls, 21 caps
Adriaan Strauss, Toyota FS Cheetahs, 12 caps

Andries Bekker, DHL Western Province, 24 caps
Eben Etzebeth, DHL Western Province, 3 caps
Juandré Kruger, Vodacom Blue Bulls, 3 caps
Flip van der Merwe, Vodacom Blue Bulls, 14 caps

Loose Forwards:
Willem Alberts, The Sharks, 11 caps
Marcell Coetzee, The Sharks, 3 caps
Keegan Daniel, The Sharks, 3 caps
Siya Kolisi, DHL Western Province, uncapped
Jacques Potgieter, Vodacom Blue Bulls, 1 cap
Pierre Spies, Vodacom Blue Bulls, 50 caps

Ruan Pienaar, Ulster, Northern Ireland, 54 caps
Jano Vermaak, Vodacom Blue Bulls, uncapped.
Francois Hougaard, Vodacom Blue Bulls, 18 caps

Elton Jantjies, MTN Golden Lions, uncapped
Morné Steyn, Vodacom Blue Bulls,, 37 caps

Jean de Villiers, DHL Western Province, 75 caps (captain)
JJ Engelbrecht, Vodacom Blue Bulls, uncapped
Frans Steyn, The Sharks, 49 caps

Lwazi Mvovo, The Sharks, 4 caps
JP Pietersen, The Sharks 45 caps
Bryan Habana, DHL Western Province, 77 caps

Zane Kirchner, Vodacom Blue Bulls, 15 caps
Patrick Lambie, The Sharks, 13 caps


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.