Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/08. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

WP side to take on Sharks

Written by Wesley Weber (wpw)

Posted in :Currie Cup, Original Content, Sharks, WP on 8 Aug 2012 at 14:06
Tagged with : , ,

Allister Coetzee has named a fairly youthful side to take on the Sharks in what should be a very tough encounter at DHL Newlands on Saturday evening.

The last clash between the sides will still be fresh in the minds of both teams as it was just a few weeks ago that the unfancied Sharks played the Stormers off the park in the semi final of this year’s SupeRugby competition. Most on this site would have ‘believed’ in their side (that quote from Stefan Terblanche springs to mind) and it is for this reason that the Sharks would in my opinion hold a slight psychological advantage.

The WP team has a number of changes due to Bok call ups as well as injuries to key players. Duane Vermeulen is not ready just yet and will more than likely be involved next weekend. His place at number 8 is filled by Canadian import Jebb Sinclair who should offer some valuable experience at the back of the scrum.

Deon Fourie moves to openside and has been named as captain for the Currie Cup season.

Here is the team:

15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 JP du Plessis, 12 Marcel Brache, 11 Gio Aplon, 10 Burton Francis, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Jebb Sinclair, 7 Tyrone Holmes, 6 Deon Fourie (c), 5 De Kock Steenkamp, 4 Don Armand, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Deon Carstens.

Subs: 16 Siyabonga Ntubeni, 17 Brok Harris, 18 JC Kritzinger, 19 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Gary van Aswegen, 22 Damian de Allende.


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.