Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/08. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Hougaard back on wing for Irish clash

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :Original Content, Springboks on 7 Nov 2012 at 13:44
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has followed through on his promise of allowing Pat Lambie some game time in the flyhalf jersey, by selecting him to start the match against Ireland this Saturday.

Lambie will combine with Ruan Pienaar in the halfback positions, while the centre combination is unchanged from the last test played against the All Blacks, with Jean de Villiers and Jaco Taute named. Francois Hougaard makes a return to the side on the wing, while JP Pietersen makes his return after missing the Rugby Championship due to injury. Zane Kirchner remains at fullback.

Amongst the forwards, the front row is unchanged in Beast Mtawarira, Adriaan Strauss and Jannie du Plessis. In the second row, Juandrè Kruger starts ahead of the injured Andries Bekker, joining forces with Eben Etzebeth. Francois Louw has been passed fit and will start with Willem Alberts and Duane Vermeulen in the loose trio.

The extended eight man bench has the compulsory full front row in Schalk Brits, CJ van der Linde and Pat Cilliers, while Flip van der Merwe provides second row cover and Marcell Coetzee covers the loose trio. Back cover on the bench sees Mornè Steyn back in the fold, while Juan de Jongh and Lwazi Mvovo can look to add spark in the last few minutes.

The Springbok team to face Ireland in Dublin is:
15. Zane Kirchner (Vodacom Blue Bulls) 21caps
14. JP Pietersen (The Sharks) 45 caps
13. Jaco Taute (MTN Golden Lions) 2 caps
12.Jean de Villiers (captain) DHL Western Province 81 caps
11. Francois Hougaard (Vodacom Blue Bulls) 24 caps
10. Pat Lambie (The Sharks) 17 caps
9. Ruan Pienaar (Ulster, N-Ireland) 60 caps
8. Duane Vermeulen (DHL Western Province) 4 caps
7. Willem Alberts (The Sharks) 17 caps
6. Francois Louw (Bath, England) 14 caps
5. Juandré Kruger (Vodacom Blue Bulls) 5 caps
4. Eben Etzebeth (DHL Western Province) 8 caps
3. Jannie du Plessis (The Sharks) 39 caps
2. Adriaan Strauss (vice-captain, Toyota FS Cheetahs) 18 caps
1. Tendai Mtawarira (The Sharks) 41 caps

16. Schalk Brits (Saracens, England) 3 caps
17. CJ van der Linde (MTN Golden Lions) 73 caps
18. Pat Cilliers (MTN Golden Lions) 4 caps
19. Flip van der Merwe (Vodacom Blue Bulls) 20 caps
20. Marcell Coetzee (The Sharks) 9 caps
21. Morné Steyn (Vodacom Blue Bulls) 41 caps
22. Juan de Jongh (DHL Western Province) 12 caps
23. Lwazi Mvovo (The Sharks) 7 caps


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.