Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/09. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Cheetahs name prelim Super Rugby squad

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :Cheetahs, Original Content, Super Rugby on 14 Nov 2012 at 08:00
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Cheetahs have named a preliminary 50 man squad ahead of the 2013 Super Rugby competition. This squad will start pre-season and continue their training after the Christmas break, which will lead to two warm up matches to be played at the end of January and beginning February.

New faces in the squad include Lions prop Caylib Oosthuizen, Bulls prop Rossouw de Klerk, Western Province loosie Tertius Daniller and Bulls centre Johan Sadie.

Boland flyhalf Elgar Watts has been drafted in as a third/fourth flyhalf along with Francois Brummer (Griquas), who will fight for game time with Johan Goosen and Riaan Smit, both currently injured. There is also a surprise call up for Griquas centre JP Nel, who brings with him a wealth of experience.

Griquas locks Ligtoring Landman and Martin Muller, who were impressive during the Currie Cup season, made the squad and it is expected that they will get quite a bit of Super Rugby game time between them, as will another Griquas player, Marnus Schoeman.

The Cheetahs face the Lions 26 January while the Bulls await them come 9 February. Centres Rob Ebersohn and Philip Snyman will not take part in these matches as they will be with the Springbok Sevens team at that stage.

The Cheetahs’ preliminary squad:

Forwards: Steph Roberts, Caylib Oosthuizen, Trevor Nyakane, Coenie Oosthuizen, Lourens Adriaanse, Rossouw de Klerk, Ryno Barnes, Adriaan Strauss, Hercu Liebenberg, Torsten van Jaarsveld, Ligtoring Landman, Francois Uys, Andries Ferreira, Edwin Hewitt, Martin Muller, Waltie Vermeulen, Lodewyk de Jager, Marnus Schoeman, Lappies Labuschagne, Heinrich Brssow, Boom Prinsloo, Justin Downey, Davon Raubenheimer, Philip van der Walt, Leon Karemaker, Tertius Daniller

Backs: Marnus Hugo, Sarel Pretorius, Pieter van Zyl, Tewis de Bruyn, Johan Goosen, Francois Brummer, Hansie Graaff, Elgar Watts, Barry Geel, Robert Ebersohn, Joubert Engelbrecht, Jean Stemmet, Johann Sadie, JP Nel, Rocco Jansen, Raymond Rhule, Cornal Hendricks, Jannie Boshoff, Dusty Noble, Rayno Benjamin, Nico Scheepers, Willie le Roux, Hennie Daniller, Riaan Smit


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.