Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/08. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

End of Year Tour – Scotland (10) vs South Africa (21) F/T

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :Original Content, Springboks on 17 Nov 2012 at 15:30
Tagged with : , , , ,

Scotland host South Africa in the second week of the annual Southern invasion of the Northen Hemisphere.

The Scots took a hammering at the hands of the All Blacks last week, but was impressive in general play, scoring a few tries and keeping the mighty All Blacks grounded. Tim Visser especially impressed, scoring two tries on the night, and will be a danger against the weaker defence of the Springboks.

For the Springboks, Heyneke Meyer has opted to make two changes to the team that scraped past the Irish last week, changing his loosehead prop and selecting fit again Gurthro Steenkamp over CJ van der Linde, while finally seeing the light and selecting an actual centre to play in the 13 jumper.

The match should be much closer than we saw last week with the Springboks typically unable to put a weaker team to the sword and putting 50 points on them, while the Scots will be bouyed by their last performance and will hope to achieve another win over the Boks at Murrayfield.

Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Lamont, 13 Nick de Luca, 12 Matt Scott, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Greig Laidlaw, 9 Mike Blair, 8 David Denton, 7 John Barclay, 6 Kelly Brown (captain), 5 Jim Hamilton, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Euan Murray, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Ryan Grant.

Replacements: 16 Dougie Hall, 17 Kyle Traynor, 18 Geoff Cross, 19 Alastair Kellock, 20 Henry Pygros, 21 Ruaridh Jackson, 22 Peter Murchie, 23 Stuart McInally.

South Africa: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 François Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 François Louw, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.

Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morné Steyn, 22 Jaco Taute, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.

Date: Saturday, 17 November 2012
Kick-off: 14.30 (14.30 GMT; 16.30 SA time)
Venue: Murrayfield, Edinburgh
Expected weather: Partly cloudy with a high of 9°C, dropping to 4°C.
Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant referees: John Lacey (Ireland), Christophe Berdos (France)
TMO: Eric Gauzins (France)


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.