Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/11. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Frans to captain Sharks against Leopards

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks, Super Rugby on 5 Feb 2013 at 15:31
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Sharks have named a 24 man squad to take on the Leopards in Pietermaritzburg on Friday in the first of two preseason friendlies for the men in black and white. The most interesting selection is that of Frans Steyn as captain of the side.

Steyn takes the captaincy in the absence of Keegan Daniel, who will be playing off the bench, leading out a rather young team to get match fit.

The forward pack is a mix of youth up front and experience in the back row, Allan Dell, Kyle Cooper and Wiehahn Herbst joined by Pieter-Steph du Toit and the on-loan Franco van der Merwe in the tight five. The flankers are the experienced heads in the pack with Jacques Botes and Jean Deysel starting either side of Lubabalo Mthembu in the loose trio.

The backline is a different story with an experienced and very close to first choice line-up starting the match with McLeod and Lambie in the halfbacks and Steyn joined by Tim Whitehead in the midfield. Mvovo, Ndungane and Viljoen complete the backline, with Mvovo the only player of the three likely to start the first match against the Cheetahs.

The extended bench is jam packed with experience and we are likely to see everybody get some sort of run during the match. Excluded from the squad are Ryan Kankowski (who has just returned from Japan), JP Pietersen and the injured duo of Bismarck du Plessis and Dale Chadwick.

1. Allan Dell
2. Kyle Cooper
3. Wiehahn Herbst
4. Pieter-Steph du Toit
5. Franco van der Merwe
6. Jacques Botes
7. Jean Deysel
8. Lubabalo Mtembu
9. Charl McLeod
10. Patrick Lambie
11. Lwazi Mvovo
12. Francois Steyn (Captain)
13. Tim Whitehead
14. Odwa Ndungane
15. Riaan Viljoen


16. Craig Burden
17. Tendai Mtawarira
18. Jandre Marais
19. Anton Bresler
20. Keegan Daniel
21. Cobus Reinach
22. Meyer Bosman
23. Paul Jordaan
24. Louis Ludik


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.