Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/08. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Fisher the shock Baby Bok exclusion

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks on 25 Apr 2013 at 14:30
Tagged with : , , , , , , ,

SA Under 20 coach Dawie Theron has included four Sharks juniors in his squad to contest the IRB Junior World Championship in France later this year, but has caused a few raised eyebrows in Durban by snubbing in-form centre Tyler Fisher.

Fisher, who has been in fine form in the Vodacom Cup this season, as well as eclipsing all others to top the try-scoring list in last year’s under 19 competition, has been omitted in favour of Bulls players Jan Serfontein and Dries Swanepoel, with WP’s Justin Geduld the third centre in the squad.

Prop Marne Coetzee is the only forward from the Sharks’ ranks to make the list, after number 8 Johan “Plank” Meyer also narrowly missed the cut.

The Sharks are well-represented at half-back though, with both Sharks XV scrumhalves, Hanco Venter and Stefan Ungerer, and flyhalf Rob du Preez all making the grade.

Bulls flanker Stoney Steenkamp leads the side, which includes Kings Super Rugby wing Sergeal Petersen, as well as Bulls flyhalf Handre Pollard.

The SA U20 squad is:

Andrew Beerwinkel (Blue Bulls, Prop)
Marne Coetzee (KwaZulu-Natal, Prop)
Aidon Davis (EP Kings, N0 8)
Luan de Bruin (Free State, Prop)
Jacques du Plessis (Blue Bulls, Lock)
Robert du Preez (KwaZulu-Natal, Flyhalf)
Ockert du Toit (Free State, Hooker)
Justin Geduld (SARU contracted, Centre)
Irne Herbst (Blue Bulls, Lock)
Jannes Kirsten (Blue Bulls, Lock)
Cheslin Kolbe (Western Province, Fullback)
Sylvian Mahuza (Leopards, Fullback)
Devon Martinus (Golden Lions, Prop)
Luther Obi (Leopards, Wing)
Sergeal Petersen (EP Kings, Wing)
Handrè Pollard (Blue Bulls, Flyhalf)
Seabelo Senatla (SARU contracted, Wing)
Jan Serfontein (Blue Bulls, Centre)
Sithembiso Sithole (Western Province, Prop)
Kwagga Smith (Golden Lions, Flank)
Roelof Smit (Blue Bulls, Flank)
Ruan Steenkamp (Blue Bulls, Flank)
Dries Swanepoel (Blue Bulls, Centre)
Stefan Ungerer (KwaZulu-Natal, Scrumhalf)
Hanco Venter (KwaZulu-Natal, Scrumhalf)
Dennis Visser (Blue Bulls, Lock)
Michael Willemse (Western Province, Hooker)
Percy Williams (Golden Lions, Scrumhalf)

Team Management

Dawie Theron – Head Coach
Jonathan Mokuena – Team Manager
Dr. Phatho Cele – Doctor
Brendan Venter – Assistant coach
Nazeem Adams – Assistant coach
Norman Laker – Video Analyst
Anuerin Robyn – Physio
Warren Adams – Fitness coach
Rayaan Adriaanse – Media Manager
Yusuf Jackson – SARU Rep


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.