Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/06. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Sharks halfback for Baby Boks

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content on 4 Jun 2013 at 14:48
Tagged with : , , , , , ,

SA Under 20 coach Dawie Theron has pulled something of a shock selection, in naming Sharks flyhalf Rob du Preez at number 10 for his side’s World Championship opener against the USA tomorrow.

It was widely anticipated that Bulls wünderkind Handre Pollard would wear the flyhalf jersey, given his excellence in the position last year (whilst still at school), but it may be that Theron wants to give du Preez a run against lesser opposition and may indeed turn to Pollard for the key pool decider, against England on Sunday. That said, Pollard’s inclusion in the side at inside center might hint at a different plan altogether.

Du Preez will be paired with another Shark, in scrumhalf Stefan Ungerer, while the other two Durban boys in the squad, scrumhalf Hanco Venter and prop Marne Coetzee, will be on the bench.

Bulls utility forward Ruan Steenkamp captains the team from number 8.

Baby Boks:
15. Cheslin Kolbe (Western Province)
14. Luther Obi (Leopards)
13. Justin Geduld (SARU )
12. Handré Pollard (Blue Bulls)
11. Seabelo Senatla (SARU )
10. Robert du Preez (Sharks)
9. Stefan Ungerer (Sharks)
8. Ruan Steenkamp (Blue Bulls, captain)
7. Jacques du Plessis (Blue Bulls)
6. Roelof Smit (Blue Bulls)
5. Dennis Visser (Blue Bulls)
4. Irné Herbst (Blue Bulls)
3. Luan de Bruin (Free State Cheetahs)
2. Jacques du Toit (Free State Cheetahs)
1. Andrew Beerwinkel (Blue Bulls


16. Michael Willemse (Western Province)
17. Sti Sithole (Western Province)
18. Aidon Davis (EP Kings)
19. Kwagga Smith (Golden Lions)
20. Hanco Venter (Sharks)
21. Dries Swanepoel (Blue Bulls)
22. Jesse Kriel (Blue Bulls)
23. Marné Coetzee (Sharks)


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.