Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/09. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

WP squad preparing for Currie Cup opener

Written by Clayton Saville (Clayton(PJLD))

Posted in :Currie Cup, Original Content, WP on 5 Aug 2013 at 14:49
Tagged with : , , ,

DHL Western Province coach Allister Coetsee today named a 26 man squad for this years Currie Cup campaign opener against the Bulls.The WP team is a nice mix of an experienced pack and young and exciting backs which should provide slightly more entertainment than what the Cape side has produced in recent years. WP Rugby have successfully employed a territory and defence based game in the past few seasons but looking at the players listed I imagine they may look to hold onto the ball a little more often during this campaign.

Apart from Stephen Coetzee( hooker) and Alistair Vermaak(prop) the pack has a fair number of Currie Cup caps between them and with Deon Fourie set to play at flank they will have a nice balanced feel. Fourie has generally played better at flank than at hooker and led the team to their first Currie Cup victory in over a decade from that position.

The backs look like something of a 7′s team with Gio Aplon being the elder statesman in this division.  Youngsters Pat Howard and Time Swiel will have an opportunity to strut their stuff and we may get to finally see what all the hype was about. Ryan Nell (Utility back) joins the squad from Maties.

Coetsee will only name his match 22 to face the Bulls on Tuesday afternoon but the WP squad is as follows.

Forwards (13):

Scarra Ntubeni

Stephan Coetzee

Steven Kitshoff

Alistair Vermaak

Pat Cilliers

Brok Harris

Gerbrandt Grobler

De Kock Steenkamp

Ruan Kitshoff

Deon Fourie (captain)

Michael Rhodes

Rynhardt Elstadt

Nizaam Carr

Backs (13):

Louis Schreuder

Nic Groom

Gary van Aswegen

Tim Swiel

Kurt Coleman

Berton Klaasen

Damian de Allende

Pat Howard

Ryan Nell

Gerhard van den Heever

Ederies Arendse

Cheslin Kolbe

Gio Aplon

 Western Province play The Bulls at DHL Rugby Stadium on Saturday the 10 August
Kickoff is 17:05 pm


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.