Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/10. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

WP name strong side for Bulls clash

Written by Clayton Saville (Clayton(PJLD))

Posted in :Bulls, Currie Cup, Original Content, WP on 7 Aug 2013 at 13:18
Tagged with : , , , , ,

DHL Western Province coach Allister Coetsee today named a strong squad for his teams Currie Cup opener against The Bulls at Newlands.

Up front he has named a battle hardened pack with Gerbrand Grobler the only player without Super Rugby experience even though he has been on the Stormers bench.

Deon Fourie captains the side from the flank with Scarra Ntubeni starting the season as he finished it last year in the number 2 jersey, Rhynhardt Elstadt will be the man they look to get them over the advantage line, Elstadt is almost forgotten as being the hard man before the emergence of one Eben Etzebeth.

The backs contain a number of exciting players, SA u20 start Cheslyn Kolbe makes his senior debut at left wing with Gerhard van den Heever and Gio Aplon adding the necessary experience in the back three.

Louis Schreuder and Gary van Aswegen make up the halfback pairing, the former will be vice-captain of the side while the latter will almost certainly be looking to repeat his heroics against of the last super rugby league game against the Bulls,  performance that had the entire Newlands crowd on their feet for an extended standing ovation when he was subbed for Elton Jantjies.

Damian De Allende and Pat Howard will be looking to have a go from mid-field , Howard too is making his senior debut and will be trying hard to make his mark on the coach.

The DHL Western Province team to face the Bulls :

15. Gio Aplon

14. Gerhard van den Heever

13. Pat Howard

12. Damian de Allende

11. Cheslin Kolbe

10. Gary van Aswegen

9. Louis Schreuder (vice-captain)

8. Nizaam Carr

7. Rynhardt Elstadt

6. Deon Fourie (captain)

5. De Kock Steenkamp

4. Gerbrandt Grobler

3. Brok Harris

2. Scarra Ntubeni

1. Steven Kitshoff


16. Alistair Vermaak

17. Pat Cilliers

18. Michael Rhodes

19. Ruan Kitshoff

20. Nic Groom

21. Kurt Coleman

22. Berton Klaasen

Kick off is at 17:05 and the referee is Rasta Rasivhenge


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.