Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/06. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Currie Cup 2013: Lions (31) vs Western Province (31) F/T

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :Currie Cup, Original Content on 30 Aug 2013 at 17:00
Tagged with : , , ,

The rugby weekend kicks off with an interesting fight at Ellis Park, the Lions hosting Western Province.

The Lions will be full of confidence, but as was pointed out to me on the site, will not be quite the same team thanks to the change at flyhalf. Elton Jantjies starts the match in place of Marnitz Boshoff, who has to shift to fullback. I’ve always been a Jantjies fan, so I will give him the benefit of the doubt to shine in this match. There will be a bit of bad blood, seeing as Jantjies spent the early part of the year amongst most of these WP players.

Western Province have had a low key start to the season but are sitting pretty at the top of the log, one point clear of the Sharks. It’s a tough second week on the road for the Cape side, but rather play in Johannesburg than playing at the swimming pool called Newlands. The worry for Western Province fans is that Kurt Coleman is starting at flyhalf, but with a quality backline outside him, don’t be surprised if we see a few tries from them tonight.

Lions: 15 Marnitz Boshoff, 14 Deon Helberg, 13 Robert de Bruyn, 12 Dylan Des Fountain, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Guy Cronje, 8 Lambert Groenewald, 7 Derick Minnie (captain), 6 Warwick Tecklenburg, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Willie Britz, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 CJ van der Linde

Substitutes: 16. Robbie Coetzee, 17. Jacques van Rooyen, 18. Hugo Kloppers, 19. JJ Breedt, 20. Jaco Kriel, 21. Tian Meyer, 22. Andries Coetzee

Western Province:15 Gio Aplon, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Cheslin Kolbe, 10 Kurt Coleman, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Deon Fourie (captain), 5 De Kock Steenkamp, 4 Michael Rhodes, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Steven Kitshoff

Substitutes: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Gerbrandt Grobler, 19 Rohan Kitshoff, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Tim Swiel, 22 Michael van der Spuy


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.