Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/09. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

No Cat for Province

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Currie Cup, Original Content, WP on 4 Sep 2013 at 12:49
Tagged with : , , , , ,

There’s a weird Afrikaans song about some or other cat that keeps coming back and while that may be true for Western Province in general terms, their own feline, Demetri “Cat”rikilis (see what I did there?) has not recovered from his latest injury in time to face the Sharks this weekend.

Province do, however, welcome back Gary van Aswegen this week, although he will make his return via the bench with Kurt Coleman (who played Arnold in “Diff’rent Strokes”) continuing as the starting flyhalf. The only other change to the squad that blew a frankly massive lead against the Lions last week sees one of the scrumhalves start in place of the other. I can’t remember which way round it goes this week.

Oh wait, that’s right. Louis Schreuder (the kid from “Silver Spoons”) will start this week, with Nic Grooming a spot for himself on the bench. The Sharks will want to watch out for a dangerous pair of Shire-folk in the back 3, with both Gio Aplon and Cheslin Kolbe too short to be effectively tackled by anyone of normal height, thus proving elusive on the rugby field.

Brok Harris will continue to cover prop, flyhalf and inside centre from the bench.

Die WP:
15. Gio Aplon,14. Gerhard van den Heever,13. Juan de Jongh,12. Damian de Allende,11. Cheslin Kolbe,10. Kurt Coleman,9. Louis Schreuder (vice-captain),8. Nizaam Carr,7. Rynhardt Elstadt,6. Deon Fourie (captain),5. De Kock Steenkamp,4. Michael Rhodes,3. Pat Cilliers,2. Tiaan Liebenberg,1. Steven Kitshoff
16. Scarra Ntubeni,17. Brok Harris,18. Gerbrandt Grobler,19. Rohan Kitshoff,20. Nic Groom,21. Gary van Aswegen,22. Michael van der Spuy


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.