Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log

Categories

Archives

Copyright

© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/08. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Kwas get Arnold back


Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Currie Cup, Original Content on 10 Sep 2013 at 09:41
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , ,

It seems justice has been served in the case of Griquas’ mammoth Aussie lock import, Rory Arnold.

Arnold was served a 7-match ban last week, on the flimsiest of evidence, after being red carded for a supposed bite to the forearm of Cheetahs hooker Ethienne Reynecke. Watching the replay of what happened, it appeared to all the world as though Reyneke had swung his forearm at the face of the charging Arnold as the latter surged over the tryline to score his maiden Currie Cup points; Arnold had his mouth open at the time and one would have thought that any right-minded fool would have concluded that any “bite mark” would have been the consequence of of the inevitable downward pressure applied on the forearm as Arnold crashed over the line.

Alas, that was not the finding of the match TMO, who confidently pronounced “there was definitely a bite”, despite a lack of any video evidence to confirm this view. Nor did the first judicial hearing come to that sensible conclusion, opting rather to ban the player on “the balance of probability”, thus tacitly admitting zero evidence to substantiate the finding. I find it amusing that, at no point, did anyone question whether Reynekce’s swinging forearm to Arnold’s mouth might, just perhaps, have been considered a high tackle…

Arnold duly missed Griquas’ weekend defeat against the Lions – and couldn’t they just have used a 2.08m monster in the middle of that creaky lineout – only to be amazingly exonerated of all charges during yesterday’s appeal. The one thing that is, of course, sorely lacking is any hint of an apology, or even an admission from the match referee, TMO, citing commissioner, or judicial panel that they got this one horribly wrong and did Arnold a massive disservice.

We wait on, more in hope than real expectation.



10 Comments

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.