Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/10. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Helberg gets centre nod

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Currie Cup, Lions, Original Content on 19 Sep 2013 at 11:18
Tagged with : , , , , , , ,

Lions coach Johan Ackermann has opted to entrust former Bulls youngster (and cougar-bait) Deon Helberg with the vacant number 13 jersey for this week’s Currie Cup match, against the side he represented as a youngster.

Helberg, who hit the news a few years back as part of a frankly ridiculous story relating to the consequences of banging your girlfriend and her mom at the same time, takes over from Robert de Bruyn, who picked up a serious injury against the Cheetahs last week. Michaelhouse will still have a man in the backline, though, with Ross Cronje taking over from Tian Meyer as the starting scrumhalf.

Ackermann has changed the pack too, with CJ van der Linde and Franco van der Merwe the only tight forwards to keep their starting spots. Bees Roux is gone – replaced by Ruan Dreyer – with hooker Robbie Coetzee and lock Stephan Greeff also promoted. Willie Britz is out this week, prompting a back-row reshuffle. Derick Minnie will captain the side from the back of the scrum this week, with Warwick Tecklenberg shifting to blindside to make space for Jaco Kriel in the number 6 jersey.

Two more former Sharks, Guy Cronje and Lambert Groenewald, feature on the bench.

Lions: 15 Marnitz Boshoff, 14 Andries Coetzee, 13 Deon Helberg, 12 Dylan des Fountain, 11 Anthony Volminck, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Derick Minnie (capt), 7 Warwick Tecklenberg, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Stephan Greeff, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 CJ van der Linde
Replacement: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Chris van Zyl, 19 Lambert Groenewald, 20 Guy Cronje, 21 Lionel Cronje, 22 Ruhan Nel


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.