Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/10. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Bok call-ups for du Toit, Coetzee

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Springboks, The Rugby Championship on 23 Sep 2013 at 09:16
Tagged with : , , , , , ,

Sharks forwards Pieter-Steph du Toit and Marcell Coetzee have been included in Heyneke’s Meyer’s Springbok squad for the home Rugby Championship tests against Australia and New Zealand, after both playing starring roles in Saturday’s big Currie Cup win over the Cheetahs.

Coetzee, of course, was a part of the squad that toured the Anitpodes earlier in the month, but was released back to the Sharks (for just one weekend, it seems) due to limited game time on that trip. Du Toit, on the other hand, was originally named in the squad, only to be withdrawn later due to a sternum injury. His place was taken by the Lions’ Franco van der Merwe, but Meyer has now once again backed the Sharks youngster over the Lions veteran.

Also enjoying a fresh call-up is Western Province centre Juan de Jongh, who missed out on the overseas leg, but has been putting in good displays in the Currie Cup.

The Boks play Australia in Cape Town on Saturday and the All Blacks at Ellis Park a week later.

South Africa:
Forwards (17): Lourens Adriaanse, Willem Alberts, Marcell Coetzee, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Siya Kolisi, Juandré Kruger, Francois Louw, Tendai Mtawarira, Coenie Oosthuizen, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Gurthrö Steenkamp, Adriaan Strauss, Flip van der Merwe, Duane Vermeulen.

Backs (13): Bjorn Basson, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers (captain), Fourie du Preez, JJ Engelbrecht, Bryan Habana, Zane Kirchner, Patrick Lambie, Willie le Roux, Ruan Pienaar, Jan Serfontein, Morné Steyn, Jano Vermaak.


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.