Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/08. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Griquas throw in the towel

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :Currie Cup, Original Content, Other SA Teams on 9 Oct 2013 at 10:24
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , , , ,

Outgoing Griquas coach Pote Human has given his regular starters the week off in naming a completely new side for the match against the Lions at Ellis Park this weekend.

Griquas will finish last on the Currie Cup log after their worst season in a very long time, and will face the Pumas in a promotion relegation match to decide who plays Currie Cup Premier Division next year. This game might or might not take place, following the news of a potential revote.

Human has opted not to play Springbok Willie le Roux, giving him the week off as well.

Regulars like half backs Marnus Hugo and Francois Brummer take rest, while front rankers Steph Roberts and Ryno Barnes also step aside for some fresh faces. Lourens Adriaanse is back to captain the side

There is a large ex-Sharks contingent in the backline, even without the impressive Howard Mnisi, with Gouws Prinsloo, Luzuko Vulindlu and Jean Stemmet playing fullback, wing and outside centre respectively.

Griquas: 15 Gouws Prinsloo, 14 Luzuko Vulindlu, 13 Jean Stemmet, 12 Jonathan Francke, 11 Rocco Jansen, 10 Du Randt Gerber, 9 Jacques Coetzee, 8 Leon Karemaker, 7 Jaco Nepgen, 6 RJ Liebenberg, 5 Rory Arnold, 4 Rynard Landman, 3 Lourens Adriaanse (c), 2 Matt Dobson, 1 Janro van Niekerk.

Substitutes: 16 Simon Westraadt, 17 Brummer Badenhorst, 18 Dalton Davis, 19 Patrick O’Brien, 20 Enrico Acker, 21 JP Nel, 22 Logan Basson.


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.