Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/08. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Lions team announced

Written by Maria Delport (Letgo)

Posted in :Currie Cup, Lions, Original Content on 10 Oct 2013 at 17:21
Tagged with : , , , , , , ,

The MTN Golden Lions team to take on the GWK Griquas at Ellis Park on Saturday Afternoon has been announced.

Griquas cannot avoid the promotion/relegation, as they are 8 points behind the Bulls and have decided to rest a few players for their upcoming promotion regulation match. The Lions on the other hand has everything to play for in this match, as they’ve slipped down the log in the last few weeks. A loss to the Griquas and a win by the Bulls will leave them short of a semifinal spot, a very unlikely scenario, but the Lions cannot be too careful.

The Lions are one of the teams that will not benefit from returning Springboks, coach Johan Ackermann has however made a few changes to his team, including returning Bok Franco van der Merwe.

In the forwards, Jacques van Rooyen moves in to the starting side at loosehead. Willie Wepener is also promoted from the bench at hooker and Julian Redelinghuys will start at tighthead, while Warwick Tecklenburg will start at six.

Golden Lions: 15 Chrysander Botha, 14 Deon Helberg, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Andries Coetzee, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Michael Bondesio, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Derick Minnie (captain), 6 Warwick Tecklenburg, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Chris van Zyl, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Jacques van Rooyen.
Replacements: 16 Robbie Coetzee, 17 Jacobus Roux, 18 Lambert Groenewald, 19 Willie Britz, 20 Ross Cronje, 21 Lionel Cronje, 22 Kobus de Kock.


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.