Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/09. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Sharks named for semi-final

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Currie Cup, Original Content, Sharks on 16 Oct 2013 at 12:25
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Keegan Daniel will lead an experienced Sharks outfit in Saturday’s Currie Cup semi-final against the Cheetahs, with the return of 50-test veteran Frans Steyn in midfield the biggest talking point.

While the Sharks have kept the forward pack mostly unchanged, bar the injury-enforced selection of Wiehahn Herbst at tighthead (and the reversal of last week’s emergency switching of Daniel and Jacques Botes), it’s amongst the backs that the biggest changes have come. Pat Lambie and Louis Ludik start either side of Steyn in a completely new attacking axis this week – one that oozes experience and proven class, if it lacks the youthful exuberance of the combination it replaces.

Tim Whitehead is the most unfortunate of last week’s starters; his place in the 22 is forfeit due to Ludik and Steyn’s promotions. Heimar Williams moves down to the bench, alongside Fred Zeilinga while it appears that any further thought of scrumhalf rotation has been shelved, with Charl McLeod continuing in a starting role. SP Marais and Ludik are thus the only players in the backline who aren’t capped Springboks.

The only other new face in the squad is that of Danie Mienie, who comes onto the bench as prop cover, given Jannie du Plessis’s withdrawal.

15 SP Marais, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Louis Ludik, 12 Francois Steyn, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Keegan Daniel (capt), 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Peet Marais, 3 Wiehahn Herbst, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Kyle Copoer, 17 Danie Mienie, 18 Stephan Lewies, 19 Jacques Botes, 20 Cobus Reinach, 21 Fred Zeilinga, 22 Heimar Williams


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.