Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/10. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Elton returns for Lions

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Currie Cup, Lions, Original Content on 17 Oct 2013 at 11:55
Tagged with : , , ,

Flyhalf Elton Jantjies has been passed fit and will start in the all-important number 10 jersey for the Lions, against Western Province in this weekend’s Currie Cup semi-final at Newlands.

Jantjies replaces Marnitz Boshoff, who in turn moves to fullback in place of Chrysander Botha. The merry-go-round continues as the Namibian international moves to right wing, with Deon Helberg the man to drop out of the team (and in fact the 22) as a result. The other backline change sees Michael Bondesio again out, with Ross Cronje coming in for another start.

Up front, the front and back rows both see changes; CJ van der Linde and Ruan Dreyer come in to start at prop, with both Julian Redelinghuys and Jacques van Rooyen included on a 5-man forward bench. Jaco Kriel comes in for Warwick Tecklenberg in a rotational change at 6.

The decision to pick only two backline reserves sees Kobus de Kock and Lionel Cronje both fall out; Tian Meyer covers scrumhalf and Robert de Bruyn pretty much everything else.

Lions: 15 Marnitz Boshoff, 14 Chrysander Botha, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Andries Coetzee, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Derick Minnie (capt), 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Chris van Zyl, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 CJ van der Linde.
Replacements: 16 Robbie Coetzee, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Julian Redelinghuys, 19 Willie Britz, 20 Warwick Tecklenburg, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 Robert de Bruyn.


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.