Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/08. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

End of Year Tour – Our squads

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :End of Year Tour, Original Content, Reader Submissions, Springboks on 22 Oct 2013 at 08:30
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In anticipation of the Springbok End of year tour squad announcement this weekend, the backroom Sharksworld users have each put together a team they think should be announced.

The rules were simple, any players, anywhere can be selected to the point of 30 members. You can allow overseas players or you can decide to rest certain stars.

Each team is listed below, but I will give a short summary of the thinking behind the team. Firstly, Wesley has gone for an experienced squad including most of the players that have done duty during the Rugby Championship, opting not to rest too many players.

Charl opted for an inexperienced backline, resting key individuals while allowing certain big names to make a comeback into the Green and Gold. Clayton opted for much the same approach as Wes, choosing the best available players and rewarding some younger players with a fair amount of recent form.

Andre Meyer’s team was the simplest of all, selecting the Sharks team that did duty this last weekend, adding Jean de Villiers, to not seem too biased towards the Black and White.

My own team was selected without any overseas players, with the exception of JP Pietersen, who will be back in South Africa as soon as the Super Rugby season starts. I have allowed some grace in terms of new players, and believe from a rumour that I have heard that Arno Botha will in fact be in the squad to travel to Europe.

Wesley’s team:

Props: Beast Mtawarira, Steven Kitshoff, Pat Cilliers, Coenie Oosthuizen
Hookers: Bismarck du Plessis, Adrian Strauss, Scarra Ntubeni
Lock forwards: Eben Etzebeth, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Juandre Kruger, Flip van der Merwe
Loosies: Francois Louw, Willem Alberts, Siya Kolisi, Duane Vermeulen, Marcell Coetzee
Scrummies: Louis Schreuder, Ruan Pienaar, Fourie du Preez
Flyhalves: Morne Steyn, Demetri Catrakilis,
Wings: Raymond Rhule, Willie le Roux, Bryan Habana
Centres: Jan Serfontein, Frans Steyn, Juan De Jongh, JJ Engelbrecht
Fullbacks: Zane Kirchner, Pat Lambie

Charl’s team:

Looseheads: Steven Kitshoff, Coenie Oosthuizen
Hookers: Bismarck du Plessis, Adrain Strauss, Scarra Ntubeni
Tightheads: Lourens Adriaanse,Frans Malherbe
Locks: Eben Etzebeth, PS du Toit, Bakkies Botha, Lood de Jager
Loosies: Marcell Coetzee, Jean Deysel,Duane Vermeulen, Siya Kolisi, Deon Fourie, Francois Louw.
Scrumhalves: Charl McLeod, Rory Kockett, Piet van Zyl
Flyhalves: Pat Lambie, Demetri Catrikilis
Centres: Damian de Allende, Juan de Jongh, JJ Engelbrecht
Wings: Gio Aplon, JJ Pietersen, Willie le Roux, Lwazi Mvovo
Fullback: Frans Steyn

Clayton’s team:

Looseheads: Beast Mtawarira, Steven Kitshoff, Coenie Oosthuizen
Hookers: Adrian Strauss, Bismarck du Plessis , Scarra Ntubeni
Tightheads: Lourens Adriaanse, Frans Malherbe, Wiehahn Herbst
Locks: Eben Etzebeth, Flip van der Merwe, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Franco van der Merwe
Flanks: Francois Louw, Duane Vermuelen, Schalk Burger, Willem Alberts , Boom Prinsloo, Derick Minnie
Scrumhalves: Fourie du Preez, Jano Vermaak, Ruan Pienaar
Flyhalves: Pat Lambie, Morne Steyn
Wings: Bryan Habana, Lwazi Mvovo, Willie le Roux, Anthony Volmink
Centres: Frans Steyn, JJ Engelbrecht, Johann Sadie, Juan de Jongh
Fullback: Gio Aplon

Andre Meyer’s team:

Props: Beast Mtawarira, Jannie du Plessis, Dale Chadwick, Wiehahn Herbst
Hookers: Bismarck du Plessis, Kyle Cooper
Locks: Pieter-Steph du Toit, Peet Marais, Stephan Lewies,
Loose forwards: Jean Deysel, Willem Alberts, Keegan Daniel, Jacques Botes, Marcell Coetzee
Scrumhalves: Charl McLeod, Cobus Reinach
Flyhalves: Pat Lambie, Fred Zeilinga
Centres: Jean de Villiers, Tim Whitehead, Frans Steyn, Heimar Williams
Wings: Lwazi Mvovo, Odwa Ndungane
Fullbacks: SP Marais, Louis Ludik

Richard’s team:

Props: Coenie Oosthuizen, Pat Cilliers, Lourens Adriaanse, Steven Kitshoff
Hookers: Bismarck du Plessis, Adrian Strauss, Scarra Ntubeni
Locks: Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Franco van der Merwe, Flip van der Merwe
Loose Forwards: Willem Alberts, Siya Kolisi, Marcell Coetzee, Duane Vermeulen, Jean Deysel, Arno Botha
Scrumhalves: Piet van Zyl, Charl McLeod
Flyhalves: Pat Lambie, Demetri Catrakilis
Centres: Jean de Villiers, Jan Serfontein, JJ Engelbrecht, Juan de Jongh
Wings: JP Pietersen, Raymond Rhule, Lwazi Mvovo,
Fullbacks: Frans Steyn, Gio Aplon


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.