Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/08. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Five Sharks in Bok contract group

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks, Springboks on 12 Nov 2013 at 11:10
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , , , ,

Good news today – at least from the point of view of Springbok continuity – is that the South African Rugby Union has managed to tie 10 key Springboks down with long-term contracts that will see them unable to leave the South African game until the end of 2015.

With a huge amount of focus currently on the number of ex-pat Boks selected by coach Heyneke Meyer, it’s encouraging to see that SARU is taking whatever steps they can to prevent any further top players opting to play their non-test rugby overseas. The Union has been at pains to point out the new contracts clearly stipulate that the players in question may not take up contracts with foreign clubs while they are in force.

Five Sharks players are among the contracted group, with Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Willem Alberts, Beast Mtawarira and Frans Steyn all benefiting – this news is also a huge boost to the Sharks, as it means that there is no need to worry about any further big-money French or Japanese offers for these players, at least not for the next two seasons. Other “Shark Boks” like Patrick Lambie, Marcell Coetzee and Pieter-Steph du Toit clearly haven’t managed to convince coach Heyneke Meyer that the fall into this “must have” category just yet.

Aside from the five Sharks, there are four WP players, one Cheetah and no Bulls or Lions in the group of 10.

The full contracted group is: Willem Alberts (Sharks), Jean de Villiers (WP), Bismarck du Plessis (Sharks), Jannie du Plessis (Sharks), Eben Etzebeth (WP), Siya Kolisi (WP), Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks), Frans Steyn (Sharks), Adriaan Strauss (Cheetahs) and Duane Vermeulen (WP).


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.