Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/08. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Lambie starts at 10 for Boks

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :End of Year Tour, Original Content, Springboks on 14 Nov 2013 at 14:35
Tagged with : , , , , , , ,

Pat Lambie will play flyhalf when the Springboks take on Scotland at Murrayfield on Sunday.

With regular flyhalf Morne Steyn rated as touch and go for even a bench spot, Lambie shifts into the hot seat from the fullback position he occupied last week, with Willie le Roux restored to the last line of defence. It will be le Roux’s first start at fullback in some months, after playing out most of the Rugby Championship at right wing. JP Pietersen, restored to his favoured number 14 jersey, earns a 50th test cap this week.

Changes up-front see Gurthro Steenkamp, Adriaan Strauss and Bakkies Botha all come in for starts. Somewhat surprisingly, the last-named has forced Pieter-Steph du Toit out of the squad entirely, which is a bit of an abrupt departure from the midweek talk that he may start. Eben Etzebeth joins fellow first-team regulars in Bismarck du Plessis and Beast Mtawarira on the wood.

An injury concern sees Siya Kolisi bracketed with Willem Alberts at closed-side flank; should the latter be passed fit, though, Kolisi will miss out entirely, with Marcell Coetzee guaranteed the number 19 jersey either way.

Steyn will have to face a late fitness test too, before taking his place on the bench. No replacement has yet been named in case he is forced to cry off.

The Springbok team to face Scotland in Edinburgh is:

15. Willie le Roux 10 caps 15 points
14. JP Pietersen 49 caps 70 points
13. Jaque Fourie 70 caps 160 points
12. Jean de Villiers (captain) 94 caps 125 points
11. Bryan Habana 93 caps 265 points
10. Pat Lambie 30 caps 57 points
9. Fourie du Preez 66 caps 75 points
8. Duane Vermeulen 14 caps 5 points
7. Willem Alberts 28 caps 30 points/Siya Kolisi 9 caps 0 points
6. Francois Louw 26 caps 25 points
5. Flip van der Merwe 32 caps 5 points
4. Bakkies Botha 76 caps 35 points
3. Frans Malberhe 1 caps 0 points
2. Adriaan Strauss (vice-captain) 31 caps 25 points
1. Gurthrö Steenkamp 47 caps 30 points
16. Bismarck du Plessis 55 caps 45 points
17. Tendai Mtawarira 51 caps 10 points
18. Coenie Oosthuizen 12 caps 5 points
19. Eben Etzebeth 22 caps 0 points
20. Marcell Coetzee 14 caps 5 points
21. Ruan Pienaar 72 caps 130 points
22. Morné Steyn 52 caps 627 points/AN Other
23. JJ Engelbrecht 11 caps 20 points


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.