Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/09. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Untested squad for Lions

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Lions, Original Content, Super Rugby on 12 Feb 2014 at 10:35
Tagged with : , , , , , ,

Lions coach Johan Ackermann has named a squad of 33 players to compete for the 2014 Super Rugby title, with only two capped Springboks in the mix amongst a bevy of unproven players.

A fair few of those selected have earned their stripes for the Lions in Currie Cup rugby and Ackermann will also take comfort from a handful of experienced players in the mix who have played a fair bit of Super Rugby before, both for the Lions and for various adopted franchises last year.

Franco van der Merwe, Derick Minnie and Willie Wepener will be key players up front, all boasting solid experience at this level, while the likes of Michael Bondesio and Elton Jantjies (once fit) will need to guide a backline featuring Lionel Mapoe as its only other established star.

Former Sharks age-group player Luvo Lusaseni has been included amongst the locks. Meanwhile, a strange selection sees experienced campaigner Bees Roux omitted in favour of a group of younger props.

Lions squad:

Michael Bondesio
Marnitz Boshoff
Chrysander Botha
Willie Britz
Andries Coetzee
Robbie Coetzee
Ruan Combrinck
Francois de Klerk
Ruan Dreyer
Corne Fourie
Deon Helberg
Alwyn Hollenbach
Elton Jantjies
JW Jonker
Jaco Kriel
Luvuyiso Lusaseni
Lionel Mapoe
Malcolm Marx
Derick Minnie
Franco Mostert
Martin Muller
Julian Redelinghuys
Courtnall Skosan
Warwick Tecklenburg
Franco van der Merwe
Schalk van der Merwe
Deon van Rensburg
Jacques van Rooyen
Coenie van Wyk
Anthony Volmink
Stefan Watermeyer
Willie Wepener
Warren Whiteley


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.