Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/12. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Super Rugby 2014: Cell C Sharks (31) v Vodacom Bulls (16) F/T

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Bulls, Original Content, Sharks on 15 Feb 2014 at 18:00
Tagged with : ,

Welcome to Durban where the signs are pointing towards a far bigger crowd than Growthpoint Kings Park has seen in some time.

Jake White’s Sharks may have a new coach, sponsor, team name, captain and whatever else, but ultimately their is not too much particularly new about the personnel named to take on the old foe today. The tight five, back row and back three all have a seasoned look, with only the attacking axis from 9 through to 13 inexperienced as a combination, if not individually. The Sharks boast a shade over 950 caps’ worth of Super Rugby experience and should really not be overawed by the challenge they’ll face from the Bulls today; that said, we’ve seen better sharks teams lose to worse opposition in this competition, so fans would be wise to take nothing for granted.

Frans Ludeke is the most experienced coach anywhere in this competition and has two more winners medals than any other South African coach can lay claim to. He may have been forced to select youngsters at 4, 6 and 7, but aside from that has a pretty experienced squad himself, notwithstanding the departure of a slew of household names from Loftus last season. Many feel that the Bulls will miss Morne Steyn’s generalship at number 10 and while understudy Louis Fouche doesn’t carry nearly the same aura as the departing record points scorer, he is no newcomer to this level, having amassed more than 20 caps for the Bulls in Super Rugby over the last two seasons.

One factor that will affect both teams, of course, is the dreaded Durban humidity and it remains to be seen whether the sticky conditions prove as great a leveler as they have in years gone by.

This intriguing contest kicks off at 19h10 SA time. Be sure to tune in.

Cell C Sharks: 15. SP Marais, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Paul Jordaan, 12. Frans Steyn, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Patrick Lambie, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Willem Alberts, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4. Anton Bresler, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis (captain), 1. Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Stephan Lewies, 20. Jean Deysel, 21. Charl McLeod, 22. Heimar Williams, 23. S’bura Sithole

Vodacom Bulls: 15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Louis Fouché, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies (capt), 7 Jacques du Plessis, 6 Jono Ross, 5 Flip van der Merwe, 4 Paul Willemse, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 Dean Greyling.
Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Victor Matfield, 20 Jacques Engelbrecht, 21 Piet van Zyl, 22 Handré Pollard, 23 Ulrich Beyers.


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.