Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/08. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Taute return prompts backline shuffle

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Stormers, Super Rugby on 25 Feb 2014 at 14:40
Tagged with : , , , , , , , ,

The Stormers have named an arguably stronger lineup than the one that capitulated in Johannesburg, for Saturday’s first home Vodacom Super Rugby game, against the Hurricanes at Newlands.

Schalk Burger, Manuel Carizza and Siya Kolisi, all of whom left the field during the Ellis Park debacle, have been cleared of their respective injuries, meaning an unchanged pack (and a shot at redemption for the forwards, who were simply outclassed by their no-name opposition on Saturday evening).

It’s at the back, though, that things have changed – and rather substantially. Jaco Taute has recovered from his latest knee complaint and will finally start in the number 15 jersey, prompting a shift to left wing for Gio Aplon. Kobus van Wyk retains his spot on the right, but Damian de Allende, who wore 11 against the Lions, now shifts to his favoured inside center position, meaning a move one spot further out for captain Jean de Villiers.

Michael van der Spuy, the unlucky man to don the 13 shirt last time around, is out in the cold and has not even warranted a bench spot.

DHL Stormers: 15 Jaco Taute, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Jean de Villiers (captain), 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Gio Aplon, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Rynhardt Elstadt, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 Oliver Kebble, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Michael Rhodes, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Nic Groom, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Ryno Eksteen.


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.