Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/08. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Starting role for Matfield

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Bulls, Original Content, Super Rugby on 8 Apr 2014 at 09:58
Tagged with : , , , , , ,

The Bulls have not hesitated to switch Victor Matfield’s back-room tour role for a playing one; one game and a few injuries later and the big former Bok is right back in the starting lineup.

Matfield starts in the number 5 jersey against the Highlanders this weekend, meaning a positional switch to number 4 for Flip van der Merwe, who retains the captaincy. Paul Willemse thus moves out of the starting lineup and will play off the bench this week.

The loss of both Deon Stegmann and Deald Potgieter to injury has resulted in a complete back row reshuffle. Jono Ross, who did not play at all last week, starts at openside flank, while Jacques du Plessis moves from the bench into the number 7 jersey worn by Potgieter last week. Grant Hattingh, who operated as reserve lock against the Hurricanes, comes in for his second start of the campaign at number 8, meaning a benchwards move for Vleis Engelbrecht.

The backline is unchanged for this encounter, as Jacques-Louis Potgieter and Jurgen Visser have both been cleared of injury. William Small-smith replaces Ulrich Beyers in a bench change.

Vodacom Bulls: 15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Grant Hattingh, 7 Jacques du Plessis, 6 Jono Ross, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Flip van der Merwe (captain), 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 Dean Greyling.
Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Marcel vd Merwe, 18 Paul Willemse, 19 Jacques Engelbrecht, 20 Piet van Zyl, 21 Handré Pollard, 22 William Small-Smith, 23 Morné Mellet.


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.