Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/10. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Steyn starts at flyhalf

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks, Super Rugby on 30 Apr 2014 at 16:03
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Francois Steyn has been named at flyhalf in a rather drastically rejigged Cell C Sharks outfit named to face the Melbourne Rebels on Friday.

In all, Director of Rugby Jake White has made eight changes to his starting fifteen, although three of those are admittedly positional switches. The resulting combination is missing only S’bura Sithole to be considered the strongest available to the Sharks given the long-term injuries in the squad.

Lwazi Mvovo (fullback), Paul Jordaan (outside centre) and Charl McLeod (scrumhalf) are the only backs to keep their jerseys after the Highlanders defeat. Odwa Ndungane returns at right wing, prompting a shift leftwards for JP Pietersen (who takes over from the injured Sithole). Heimar Williams starts at inside centre, with Steyn pulling the strings from pivot.

Further changes up front see Ryan Kankowski start ahead of Keegan Daniel (number 8) and Jean Deysel come in for Willem Alberts at blindside flank. Marcell Coetzee retains his place, as do lock Stephan Lewies and props Jannie du Plessis and Beast Mtawarira. Bismarck du Plessis is fit again, coming in for Kyle Cooper at hooker, while Alberts takes over from Etienne Oosthuizen as starting lock.

Fresh faces on the bench this week are Cobus Reinach and Fred Zeilinga, both of whom are on the way back from injury. Tim Swiel and Tera Mtembu drop out of the squad this week, along with Stefan Ungerer and Franco Marais, neither of whom is on tour.

The Cell C Sharks

15. Lwazi Mvovo (Ricoh PMB Collegians)
14. Odwa Ndungane (Varsity College RFC)
13. Paul Jordaan (Varsity College RFC)
12. Heimar Williams (SA Home Loans Durban Collegians)
11. JP Pietersen (Thanda Zululand Rhinos)
10. Frans Steyn (SA Home Loans Durban Collegians)
9. Charl McLeod (Varsity College RFC)
8. Ryan Kankowski (Amanzimtoti Rugby Club)
7. Jean Deysel (Marshall Security Crusaders)
6. Marcell Coetzee (SA Home Loans Durban Collegians)
5. Stephan Lewies (Amanzimtoti Rugby Club)
4. Willem Alberts (SA Home Loans Durban Collegians)
3. Jannie du Plessis (Marshall Security Crusaders)
2. Bismarck du Plessis (Captain) (Marshall Security Crusaders)
1. Tendai Mtawarira (Jonsson College Rovers)

16. Kyle Cooper (Jonsson College Rovers)
17. Dale Chadwick (Ricoh PMB Collegians)
18. Lourens Adriaanse (Amanzimtoti Rugby Club)
19. Etienne Oosthuizen (UKZN Impi)
20. Keegan Daniel (Jonsson College Rovers)
21. Cobus Reinach (SA Home Loans Durban Collegians)
22. Fred Zeilinga (SA Home Loans Durban Collegians)
23. SP Marais (Marshall Security Crusaders)


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.