Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/10. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Vodacom Super Rugby 2014: Round 12 preview and predictions

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Super Rugby on 1 May 2014 at 08:59
Tagged with : , ,

We’re doing this a little early today, so a good few teams have yet to be confirmed. We’ll do our best regardless.

Game 1: Blues v Reds (Friday 09h35 SA time)

The Blues haven’t lost yet at home this year and i don’t see this Reds team changing that stat. Blues to win by 8 points.

Blues: 15 Charles Piutau, 14 Frank Halai, 13 Francis Saili, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Lolagi Visinia, 10 Simon Hickey, 9 Bryn Hall, 8 Jerome Kaino, 7 Brendan O’Connor, 6 Peter Saili, 5 Tom Donnelly, 4 Patrick Tuipulotu, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 Keven Mealamu (captain), 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 James Parsons, 17 Ofa Tu’ungafasi, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Hayden Triggs, 20 Steven Luatua, 21 Piri Weepu, 22 Ihaia West, 23 George Moala.

Reds: 15 Mike Harris, 14 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 13 Ben Tapuai, 12 Anthony Fainga’a, 11 Rod Davies, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Jake Schatz, 7 Liam Gill, 6 Eddie Quirk, 5 James Horwill (captain), 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Greg Holmes, 2 Saia Fainga’a, 1 James Slipper.
Replacements: 16 James Hanson, 17 Ben Daley, 18 Jono Owen, 19 Ed O’Donoghue, 20 Beau Robinson, 21 Nick Frisby, 22 Ben Lucas, 23 Jamie-Jerry Taulagi.

Game 2: Rebels v Cell C Sharks (Friday 11h40 SA time)

The Sharks played their worst game of the season last week and hpoefully couldn’t possibly be that dire two weeks in a row. This Rebels team is a completely different proposition to the one that conceded 60 points at Kings Park last year, but we’re hoping that the Sharks will be back at something resembling their best this week and will take the points. Sharks to win by 5.

Rebels: 15 Jason Woodward, 14 Male Sau, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Mitch Inman, 11 Tom English, 10 Bryce Hegarty, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Scott Higginbotham (captain), 7 Scott Fuglistaller, 6 Colby Fainga’a, 5 Luke Jones, 4 Cadeyrn Neville, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 Shota Horie, 1 Cruze Ah-Nau.
Replacements: 16 Pat Leafa, 17 Max Lahiff, 18 Paul Alo-Emilie, 19 Hugh Pyle, 20 Sean McMahon, 21 Nic Stirzaker, 22 Tom Kingston, 23 Angus Roberts.

Cell C Sharks: 15 Lwazi Mvovo, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Heimar Williams, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Francois Steyn, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Willem Alberts, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis (captain), 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Dale Chadwick, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Etienne Oosthuizen, 20 Keegan Daniel, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Fred Zeilinga, 23 SP Marais.

Game 3: Crusaders v Brumbies (Saturday 06h35 SA time)

This is the game of the round, without a doubt. Both of these teams are in superb form and pushing hard for honours, so it’s hard to pick a winner. We don’t see the Crusaders going down at home, though, so we’ll go with them. Crusaders to win a thrilling contest by 5 points.

Crusaders: to be announced

Brumbies: to be announced

Game 4: Chiefs v Lions (Saturday 09h35 SA time)

Hard to see any result but a big win for the home side here. Chiefs by 12.

Chiefs: to be announced

Lions: 15. Chrysander Botha, 14. Deon van Rensburg, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Stefan Watermeyer, 11. Courtnall Skosan, 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Francois de Klerk, 8. Warren Whiteley (Captain), 7. Derick Minnie, 6. Jaco Kriel, 5. Franco Mostert, 4. Martin Muller, 3. Julian Redelinghuys, 2. Robbie Coetzee, 1. Schalk (FS) van der Merwe
Replacements: 16. Akker van der Merwe, 17. Jacques van Rooyen, 18. Ruan Dreyer, 19. Luvuyiso Lusaseni, 20. Willie Britz, 21. Ross Cronje, 22. Marnitz Boshoff, 23. JW Jonker

Game 5: Waratahs v Hurricanes (Saturday 11h40 SA time)

This should be another highly entertaining game – personally, I’m hoping for a Tahs loss, just so we can see Michael Cheika lose it again! Despite the ‘Canes resurgence in recent weeks, though, I’m going to reel my neck in and back the home side to win a close one. Waratahs by 4 points, for me.

Waratahs: To be announced

Hurricanes: to be announced

Game 6: DHL Stormers v Highlanders (Saturday 15h00 SA time)

The big question here is this: was the Highlanders’ performance in Durban a one-off, or can they reach those heights again? If they can play even 60% as well sa that, one fancies they’ll beat the limited Stormers, but my money is on a more subdued showing from Jamie Jospeh’s men, who picked up a few casualties in the Shark Tank. Schalk Burger’s presence will galvanise the home side too, I fancy. Stormers to win by 3.

DHL Stormers: 15. Jaco Taute, 14. Damian de Allende, 13. Juan de Jongh, 12. Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11. Sailosi Tagicakibau, 10. Kurt Coleman, 9. Nick Groom, 8. Duane Vermeulen, 7. Schalk Burger, 6. Nizaam Carr, 5. Michael Rhodes, 4. Ruan Botha, 3. Frans Malherbe, 2. Siyabonga Ntubeni, 1. Steven Kitshoff
Replacements: 16. Deon Fourie, 17. Oliver Kebble, 18. Brok Harris, 19. Jurie van Vuuren, 20. Siya Kolisi, 21. Louis Schreuder, 22. Peter Grant, 23. Kobus van Wyk

Highlanders: 15 Ben Smith (co-captain), 14 Richard Buckman, 13 Malakai Fekitoa, 12 Shaun Treeby, 11 Trent Renata, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Nasi Manu (co-captain), 7 John Hardie, 6 Elliot Dixon, 5 Joe Wheeler, 4 Josh Bekhuis, 3 Chris King, 2 Liam Coltman, 1 Kane Hames.
Replacements: 16 Brayden Mitchell, 17 Matias Diaz, 18 Ma’afu Fia, 19 Jarrad Hoeata, 20 Shane Christie, 21 Fumiaki Tanaka, 22 Jason Emery, 23 Phil Burleigh.

Game 7: Vodacom Bulls v Toyota Cheetahs (Saturday 17h05 SA time)

The Cheetahs beat the Bulls for the first time EVER in Super Rugby in round 2 and even then, laboured to a poor win over a shockingly bad Bulls team. This time around, they appear to have the edge in terms of team selection, but the Loftus factor is one that can never be discounted. Far, far better teams than this Cheetahs outfit have lost to worse Bulls teams at Loftus in the past and that’s exactly what I think is going to happen here. Bulls to win by 6.

Vodacom Bulls: 15. Jurgen Visser, 14. Akona Ndungane, 13. William Small-Smith, 12. Jan Serfontein, 11. Bjorn Basson, 10. Handre Pollard, 9. Francois Hougaard, 8. Grant Hattingh, 7. Jacques Du Plessis, 6. Jono Ross, 5. Victor Matfield (Captain), 4. Paul Willemse, 3. Marcel Van Der Merwe, 2. Callie Visagie, 1. Dean Greyling
Replacements: 16. Mbongeni Mbonambi, 17. Morné Mellett, 18. Werner Kruger, 19. Jacques Engelbrecht, 20. Wimpie van der Walt, 21. Rudy Paige, 22. Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 23. JJ Engelbrecht

Toyota Cheetahs: 15. Hennie Daniller, 14. Raymond Rhule, 13. Johann Sadie, 12. Rayno Benjamin, 11. Willie Le Roux, 10. Elgar Watts, 9. Sarel Pretorius, 8. Boom Prinsloo, 7. Jean Cook, 6. Heinrich Brussow, 5. Francois Jakobus Uys, 4. Andries Ferreira, 3. Maks Van Dyk, 2. Adriaan Strauss (Captain), 1. Caylib Oosthuizen
Replacements: 16. Torsten van Jaarsveld, 17. Trevor Nyakane, 18. Coenie Oosthuizen, 19. Rynard Landman, 20. Teboho Mohoje, 21. Shaun Venter, 22. Johan Goosen, 23. Cornal Hendricks


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.