Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/05. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Esterhuizen in Junior Bok debut

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks on 6 May 2014 at 10:04
Tagged with : , , , , , , , ,

It’s taken a while for Dawie Theron to get his hands on him, but the silver lining the Sharks XV’s Vodacom Cup exit is that a number of players – big centre Andre Esterhuizen foremost among them – are now free to concentrate solely on Junior Springbok commitments.

Theron’s second string comfortably their Argentine counterparts in the first warm-up match last week, but the coach has opted to pile on further misery in today’s second leg, selecting what he claims is a near full-strength outfit. Only Sharks prop Thomas du Toit and Bulls flyhalf Handre Pollard remain unavailable – due to Super Rugby commitments – with the likes of Jean-Luc du Plessis, Jesse Kriel and Cyle Brink joining Esterhuizen in the starting team.

The odd man out is another Sharks centre, Neil Maritz, included at left wing despite not being named in Theron’s final Junior World Championship squad. Whether the coach has had a change of heart about Maritz, or just using him to fill a gap, remains to be seen.

Here is the starting XV for today’s match in Stellenbosch.

15. Jesse Kriel (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
14. Lloyd Greeff (Leopards)
13. Dan Kriel (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
12. Andre Esterhuizen (Cell C Sharks)
11. Niel Maritz (Cell C Sharks)
10. Jean Luc Du Plessis (Cell C Sharks)
9. JP Smith (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
8. Rikus Bothma (DHL Western Province)
7. Cyle Brink (Golden Lions)
6. Thabo Mabuza (Golden Lions)
5. JD Schickerling (DHL Western Province)
4. Dan Du Preez (Cell C Sharks)
3. Dayan van der Westhuizen (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
2. Malcolm Marx (Lions)
1. Mox Mxoli (Vodacom Blue Bulls)


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.