Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2019/12. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Boks named for World XV clash

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Springboks on 4 Jun 2014 at 12:41
Tagged with : , , , , , ,

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has named a strong side to take on Nick Mallett’s World XV in Cape Town this weekend, with former Sevens player Cornal Hendricks the only uncapped player in the Bok match 23.

Meyer has opted to shift Sharks winger JP Pietersen to outside centre, due to a dearth of options in the position, creating space for Hendricks to start at right wing. Willie le Roux and Bryan Habana comprise the balance of an experienced back three, while Frans Steyn will make his first Springbok appearance in some time as he starts in the number 12 jersey.

Morne Steyn and Ruan Pienaar form an experienced and familiar halfback combination, with the selection of Fourie du Preez on the bench, rather than in the starting side, perhaps a little surprising.

Up front, the Boks do not want for experience either and have picked established combinations in all three rows of the pack. Sharks boys Beast Mtawarira, Bismarck du Plessis and Jannie du Plessis will pack down in the front row, with the old firm of Bakkies Botha and captain Victor Matfield reunited in the second. Francois Louw, Willem Alberts and Duane Vermeulen know each other well, having played as a loose forward combination for the bulk of the 2013 test season.

On the bench, there are recalls for Johan Goosen, Lwazi Mvovo, Schalk Brits and Schalk Burger.

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield (capt), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis (v/capt), 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Subs: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Gurthro Steenkamp, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Fourie du Preez, 22 Johan Goosen, 23 Lwazi Mvovo


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.