Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/09. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

The great Shark clear-out

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Currie Cup, Original Content, Sharks, Super Rugby on 9 Jun 2014 at 10:43
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

With stories filtering in over the course of the Super Rugby season, I thought it might be helpful to do a consolidated post listing all the Sharks players that we know are leaving at the end of Super Rugby – or have, in fact, already left to pursue their careers elsewhere.

Of the players below, several are leaving for Japan on short-term deals that will not affect their Super Rugby availability next year. Others have opted to leave for good and the repercussions are quite large, not only for the imminent Currie Cup campaign – where new head coach Brad Macleod-Henderson will additionally have to cope with a large cohort of absent Boks – but also for next year’s Super Rugby tournament.

With little movement the other way (at least, not that we’ve heard) the Sharks are going to have to lean heavily on their junior ranks in the months to come in the hope that a few new stars put up their hands and prove their worthiness for Super Rugby in 2015.

Here are the departures we know about at the moment.

Name Position Destination Return for Super Rugby?
 Wiehahn Herbst  Prop  Ulster  No
 Allan Dell  Prop  Edinburgh  No
 Anton Bresler  Lock  Edinburgh  No
 Peet Marais  Lock  Brives  No
 Edwin Hewitt  Lock  Biarritz  No
 Keegan Daniel  Flank  Kubota  No
 Jean Deysel  Flank  Toyota Verblitz  No
 Justin Downey  Flank  Suntory  No
 Ryan Kankowski  Number 8  Toyota  Yes
 Charl McLeod  Scrumhalf  Grenobles  No
 Shannon Rick  Scrumhalf  Albi  No
 Robert du Preez  Flyhalf  WP  No
 Francois Steyn  Centre  Toshiba  Yes
 Tim Whitehead  Centre  EP Kings  No
 JP Pietersen  Wing  Panasonic  Yes
 Hansie Graaff  Fullback  EP Kings  No


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.