Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/10. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

No Lambie for rejigged Sharks

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks, Super Rugby on 3 Jul 2014 at 08:27
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , , ,

Tim Swiel will start at flyhalf for the Cell C Sharks when they face the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein this weekend. It was widely reported that Pat Lambie may have recovered from a bicep injury in time to be considered for this match, but it appears the Bok pivot will require at least an additional week out.

Jake White has made a few interesting selections, chief amongst these the decision to finally give his reserve front row a start. Dale Chadwick’s elevation was expected, given Beast Mtawarira’s neck problem, but Kyle Cooper and Lourens Adriaanse will also take the field from the opening whistle this week, with Bok brothers Bismark and Jannie du Plessis playing off the bench. They are joined by exciting 19-year-old loose head Thomas du Toit, who was a stand out player at the recent IRB Junior World Championship.

Anton Bresler returns to the team and starts alongside Stephan Lewies in the second row, with Jean Deysel also back in action, captaining the side from blind side flank. Willem Alberts and Tera Mtembu provide utility forward cover off the bench.

Swiel’s selection at flyhalf means Frans Steyn can move back to his favoured position of inside center, where he’ll operate alongside S’bura Sithole. Cobus Reinach is at scrumhalf, while JP Pietersen, Lwazi Mvovo and SP Marais complete the starting backline. Fit-again wingers Odwa Ndungane and Tonderai Chavanga have both been picked on the bench, along with Charl McLeod.

In fact, du Toit and Mtembu thus become the only two players on the bench not capped at test level.

The Cell C Sharks

15. SP Marais
14. JP Pietersen
13. S’bura Sithole
12. Francois Steyn
11. Lwazi Mvovo
10. Tim Swiel
9. Cobus Reinach
8. Ryan Kankowski
7. Jean Deysel (Captain)
6. Marcell Coetzee
5. Anton Bresler
4. Stephan Lewies
3. Lourens Adriaanse
2. Kyle Cooper
1. Dale Chadwick

16. Thomas du Toit
17. Bismarck du Plessis
18. Jannie du Plessis
19. Willem Alberts
20. Tera Mtembu
21. Charl McLeod
22. Odwa Ndungane
23. Tonderai Chavhanga


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.