Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/09. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Etzebeth in Province start

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Currie Cup, Original Content, WP on 5 Aug 2014 at 14:02
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , ,

And we’re off, with the first Currie Cup line-up of the new Premier Division season named, courtesy of DHL Western Province.

Allister Coetzee wasted no time in including Eben Etzebeth, who was released by the Boks all of half an hour ago, in his starting lineup to face the EP Kings in Port Elizabeth on Friday. The big Bok will join Argentine Manual Carizza in a big and tall second row, with Mike Rhodes adding further height at blindside flank. Rhodes operated in the second row for the bulk of the Super Rugby season.

Boks are in short supply for Province, with new captain Juan de Jongh the only capped member of a pacy-looking backline. Seabelo Senatla and Kobus van Wyk are on Currie Cup debut as the two wings, but have both picked up a Super Rugby cap or two this year. Up front, Pat Cilliers, Tiaan Liebenberg and Siya Kolisi join Etze as the Test players in the pack.

Frans Malherbe provides front row cover off the bench, with another debutant, Alistair Vermaak, starting at loosehead. Also on the bench is former Sharks junior Robert du Preez, one of four uncapped players among the replacement division.

DHL Western Province: 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh (capt), 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Pat Cilliers (v/capt), 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Alistair Vermaak
Subs: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 Frans Malherbe, 18 Jean Kleyn, 19 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Robert du Preez, 22 Patrick Howard


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.